Home Sports APR Hand Ball Club Off to Tunisia

APR Hand Ball Club Off to Tunisia

by Williams Buningwire
11:57 am

APR player in action during military games at Amahoro indoor Stadium in August 2016. Photo Plaisir Muzogeye

APR handball club will set off for Tunisia tomorrow ahead of the African Handball Champions League slated for October 19-30, 2017 in Hammamet.

According to APR hand ball club officials, the team is travelling today by Qatar airlines at 16:15am (Kigali time) through Doha in Quatar and finally in the capital Tunis.

“The players are ready and able to compete in the tournament – having got professional coaching and skills, we look forward to good performance regardless of being new in the league,” club head coach Anaclet Bagirishya told journalists.

According to APR Head Coach, this is the first time for his side to compete in African Handball Champions League, but is optimistic about their best fourth coming performance as new players with experience which will boost the team performance.

APR’s qualification to African Handball Champions League came when it won rivals Police 37-28 at Kimisagara handball pitch in July this year.

APR finished the tournament with 53 points and claimed their first league title since 2009.

The club was founded in 2007 and won their first league title in 2009. Since then, Police had dominated the league by winning the past three consecutive league titles.

APR signed two players from Police including forward Jean Paul Muhawenayo and goalie Samuel Bananimana.

Bagirishya believes that the new players will help to raise the performance level of the team.

“These are both talented and experienced players. They will give the club a lot of skills and we expect good results in the tournament,” Bagirishya said.

The Team

Goal keepers. Bananimana Samuel, Hategikaimana Ntwari Olivier.

Line players: Rukundo Bienvennue, Niyonkuru Shafi.

Left wingers: Nyirimanzi Jean de Dieu, Umuhire Yves.

Right wingers: Giraneza Emile and Niyingenera Jean Paul.

Back court players: Muhawenayo Jean Paul, Nshimiyimana Alexis, Muhumure Elysee, Niyoneze Ephron and Karenzi Yannick.