Home NewsNational KTPress Editor Scoops Regional Media Award

KTPress Editor Scoops Regional Media Award

by Dan Ngabonziza
7:18 pm

A Rwandan Journalist, Magnus Mazimpaka, has emerged the 3rdwinner of this year’s 4th East African Business Council Media Awards.

Mazimpaka is also an Editor for KTPress, a subsidiary of Kigali Today Ltd, a leading media house in Rwanda.

The annual African Business Council Media Awards competition was jointly organized by the East African Community (EAC) and the East African Business Council (EABC).

“I am honoured, wholeheartedly”, Mazimpaka said on Monday after receiving news that he had emerged among the winners.

He noted that his career path has not been smooth but soldiered on; “My peers have always told me, that there are no shortcuts to any place worth going. My career has had nice and tasty moments, but also painful downs. And I have stayed put. And this award belongs to the former”.

Mazimpaka, an investigative journalist, submitted an article titled: “Could Kenya be running Rwanda’s economy.”  The story carried an in-depth investigation into how Kenyan-owned businesses are enormously dominating the Rwandan market, from Banks to Universities and from Construction to Restaurants.

The article has rattled feathers of Rwandan policy makers, influenced policy shift, but also opened eyes for those impending the East African Community Integration.

“There are few cases in which good journalism receives proper test of merit especially in this part of the World; but the case of investigative journalism, which is my domain, is, I think, one of the few,” Mazimpaka told KTPress.

“I have known Mazimpaka as a highly inquisitive and daring Journalist. He will always press on until he gets to the gist of the matter,” Bigabo Patrick a Sub-editor at KTPress said.

Journalists from five East African Community member states; Rwanda, Uganda; Kenya, Tanzania and Burundi submitted stories in different categories.

Andrew Luzze, executive director of East African Business Council said the objective the objective of the awards is to ensure sustained coverage of the EAC and EABC, and specifically, the various projects and programmes being undertaken as part of the integration process.

“Through this platform, EAC and EABC recognize efforts of various media houses in the region and celebrate those journalists who consciously and consistently pursue and highlight the EAC story,” he said.

The awards seek to reinforce the critical role of the media in driving the EAC integration agenda and seek to reward, recognise and encourage journalistic talent across media platforms in the various aspects of Regional Integration.

Winners will receive their prizes on 14th May during a flashy ceremony at Serena Hotel in Dar es Salam, Tanzania.

Magnus Mazimpaka

Magnus Mazimpaka