Home Sports Munyaneza Wins Memorial Lambert Byemayire Cycling Race

Munyaneza Wins Memorial Lambert Byemayire Cycling Race

by Bonnie Mugabe
7:18 pm

Munyaneza Didier seen in a past Tour of Rwanda race, won the opening serie of Rwanda Cycing Cup which concluded in Huye District on Saturday.

Rubavu’s Benediction cycling club rider Munyaneza Didier won the opening serie of the fourth edition of Rwanda Cycling Cup, Memorial Lambert Byemayire staged on Saturday.

The Memorial Lambert Byemayire saw cyclists riding 158km distance from Kigali to Huye on Saturday.

The Memorial Lambert, named in honor of the former Rwanda Cycling Federation’s vice president Lambert Byemayire,was the first of a selection of 11 long distance and challenging races up and down Rwanda.

Munyaneza clocked four hours, fourteen minutes and thirty eight seconds to win the opening leg of the rigorous Rwanda Cycling Cup which has a total of 11 series.

The Team Rwanda rider led a 1-2-3 finish as Benediction club won the elite men category with Twizeyimana Bonaventure and Byukusenge Patrick finising second and third respectively in4h15’09 and 4h15’15 respectively.

In the women category, Muhazi Cycling club rider Irakoze Violette came ahead as she clocked2h33’03 over 81km distance.

Benediction duo of Tuyishimire Jacqueline and Ndaysienga Valentine finished in second and third slots, clocking 2h3303 and 2h33’08.

In the junior boys’ category, it was still dominated by Benediction as Nzafashwanayo Jean Claude and Muhawenimana Jean Claude clocked a joint 2h27’37 to come ahead of Amis Sportif rider Mugisha Albert who finished third in 2h30’38.

Following the climax of the Memorial Lambert Byemayire, riders will now take time to prepare for the Farmers’ Circuit (Kayonza – Gicumbi) scheduled to be held on May 19, 2018.

Now in its fourth edition, Rwanda Cycling Cup will once again showcase some of Rwanda’s best riders and teams going head to head with young riders competing against the country’s top cyclists.

The 2018 series will climax with a circuit in Kigali on December 15.

 Memorial Lambert Byemayire (Kigali-Huye)

Men Elite category (158km)

  1. Munyaneza Didier (Benediction)4h14’38
  2. Twizeyimana Bonaventure (Benediction)4h15’09
  3. ByukusengePatrick (Benediction) 4h15’15

 Women (81km)

  1. Irakoze Violette (Muhazi Cycling)2h33’03

          2.Tuyishimire Jacqueline (Benediction) 2h33’03

           3. Ndaysienga Valentine (Benediction)2h33’08


Junior Boys’ Category (92km)

  1. Nzafashwanayo Jean Claude (Benediction)2h27’37
  2. Muhawenimana Jean Claude (Benediction)2h27’37
  3. Mugisha Albert (Amis Sportif)2h30’38

 2018 Cycling Cup dates:

24/03/2018Memorial Lambert Byemayire (Kigali – Huye + Circuit)

19/05/2018Farmers’ Circuit (Kayonza – Gicumbi)

09/06/2018Race to Remember

23/06/2018National Championships – (ITT/Nyamata)

24/06/2018National Championships – Road Race

07/07/2018Race for Culture (Nyanza – Rwamagana + Circuit)

21/07/2018Tour du Rwanda Preparation Races

22/07/07/2018: Tour du Rwanda Preparation Races

06/10/2018Kivu Race (Musanze – Rubavu + Circuit)

28/10/2018Karongi Challenge (Karongi – Karongi (Circuit))

10/11/2018Central Race (Kigali – Musanze – Muhanga)

15/12/2018Rwanda Cycling Cup 2018 Closing race (Kigali – Kigali (Circuit)