Home Sports Giancarlo Wins Nyirangarama Tare Rally Sprint

Giancarlo Wins Nyirangarama Tare Rally Sprint

by Bonnie Mugabe
5:18 pm

Giancarlo Davite and Yan Demester celebrating their first victory of the Rwandan rallying season in Rulindo district over the weekend

The 2019 season got underway with the first event of the year, Nyirangarama Tare Rally Sprint 2019, successfully coming to an end on Saturday in Rulindo District.

The rally which had seven stages saw participants pass through the dusty roads of Shyorongi, Tare and Nyirangarama.

Davite Giancarlo navigated by Yan Demester in a Mitsubishi Evo X emerged winners posting one hour, eleven minutes and forty eight seconds (1h11:48) to finish in the prime position.

Momo rally team composed of Hassan Alu and Roshanali Mohammed finished second in 1h18’02” while Mitraros team composed of Mitraros Elefterrios and Pagann Paolo completed the podium in 1h21’20”.

The one-day rally had a dramatic start as Bukuru team and Dukes Rally Team’s Tassos went off in SS1 however all the crew was okay.

In general, out of the 12 drivers who took part in the rally, six rally crews managed to cross the finish line. Drivers whose cars crashed out due to various reasons include

Gakwaya Jean Claude with Mugabo Jean Claude (Subaru Impreza N10, RC2), Uwimana Jules with Bukuru Hassan (Buggy), Lionel Kayitankore with Mujui Kevi (Toyota Celica, 2WD), Mayaka Felekeni Amigo with Salim Abdallah (Peugeot 205, 2WD), Fergadiotis G.Tassos with Gatsinzi Jonathan (Toyoya Corolla, 2 WD) and Yoto Fabrice with Peter Kubwimana (Subaru Impreza, S).

 Nyirangarama Tare Sprint Rally Winners

1. Giancarlo Davite/Yan Demester -1h11’48”

2. Hassan Alu/Roshanali Mohammed -1h18’02”

3. Mitraros Elefterrios/Pagann Paolo -1h21’20”

4. Jean Jean Giesen/Yannick Dewalque -1h25’41”

5. Imtiaz Din/Scoot Cook -1h34’08”

6. Semana Furaha/Kubwimana Emmanuel -1h37’37