Home Sports 2018 Agaciro Cup Begins on Friday

2018 Agaciro Cup Begins on Friday

by Bonnie Mugabe
5:33 pm

The 2018 edition of the Agaciro Cup Football Tournament is set to be staged this weekend at Stade Amahoro in Kigali City.

This year’s edition is set to attract the big four from last season’s Azam Rwanda Premier League, namely reigning champions APR FC, AS Kigali, Rayon Sports Fc and Etincelles FC respectively.

The tournament starts on Friday afternoon with two knock-out matches with APR Fc taking on Etincelles Fc at 15:30 before AS Kigali takes on defending champions Rayon Sports Fc at 18:00.

On Sunday, the winners will face-off in the final while the losers will battle for the third place play-off.

In a news briefing held at FERWAFA headquarters, the Agaciro Development Fund’s Chief Investment Officer Charles Mugabe acknowledged the importance of the tournament saying, “This tournament is of much importance to Agaciro Development Fund. The awareness created during the tournament helps Rwandans to know the importance of the fund,”

“This tournament will be held every year and our wish is to expand it across the region such that other teams from neighboring nations can be able to participate and support the fund,” added Mugabe.

Speaking on behalf of FERWAFA President Dr. Moussa Hakizimana said, “We do thank Agaciro Development Fund for this initiative of continued support towards the development of Rwandan football,”

“We have plans of expanding the tournament and probably effective from next year, we will be having many local teams taking in the tournament,” added Hakizimana.

The tournament which will be in its third year has generated Rwf.88 millions. In 2016, the tournament generated total revenue worth 16 million with FERWAFA family contributing a further Rwf.34 million. Last year, Rwf.38 million was collected from the tournament.

Prize money worth Rwf.3.5 million has been staked to be shared among the winning teams. The winner will pocket Rwf.1m, while the runner-ups will each pocket Rwf.1m, Rwf. 0.5m respectively.

Each team will receive Rwf. 2 millions to cover their expenses except for Etincelles Fc which will receive Rwf.3m due to the long distance involved while traveling to Kigali City to honour the tournament.

The Agaciro Development Fund football championship is staged annually as part of raising funds towards the Agaciro Development Fund, the country’s Rwanda’s sovereign wealth fund.

The Fund was set up to build up public savings to achieve self-reliance, maintain stability in times of shocks to the national economy and accelerate Rwanda’s socio-economic development goals. The Fund is unique as its capital comes from voluntary contributions by Rwandans at home and abroad as well as friends of Rwanda.

It will also be a good platform for teams to prepare for the 2017/18 season, which is set to start on October 19, 2018.

Rayon Sports Fc are reigning champions after winning last year’s edition following a 1-0 win over ten-man APR Fc.

Good evening Charles, can you help rectify the fixtures to correspond as follows;

2018 Agaciro Cup Fixtures
September 28

APR Fc vs Etincelles FC (Stade Amahoro, 15:30)

AS Kigali vs Rayon Sports FC (Stade Amahoro, 18:00)

Third Place Play-off
Loser 1 vs Loser 2 (Stade Amahoro, 13:00)

Winner 1 vs Winner 2 (Stade Amahoro, 15:30)

Sorry I made a mistake in the original text I sent.

Related Posts