Home Sports Tour du Rwanda2017 Game Plan Changed

Tour du Rwanda2017 Game Plan Changed

by Daniel Sabiiti
5:41 pm

Valens Ndayisenga of Austria-based Tirol Cycling Team is the man to look out for during this tournament

Three days to the Tour of Rwanda cycling competition, organisers have announced several changes in the game plan despite a lofty Rwf500m budget for a week-long debut.

In a press conference held today at Classic Hotel, Rwanda Cycling Federation (FERWACY) said that 2017 Tour du Rwanda edition will not award best youngest contender in each stage category, contrary to the earlier announcement in 2016.

Aimable Bayingana, the FERWACY president said, “This time around, we found it necessary to award the best competitive contender in each cycling stage.”

The tour will have seven stages starting with a prologue around the city of Kigali and proceed to the countryside in other stages- of which all cyclist will start stage races at 10am unlike in the past at 8am.

Also among unprecedented changes, the anticipated Japan Interpro cycling team will not take part in the game after a couple of its players were reportedly involved in an accident.

On the other hand, the organisers also said that this year is the last time the tour will be held in the months of November, and starting with 2019 the tour will be held in August.

“By this time, the tour of Rwanda will have advanced to a first division on continental level just like the Tropicale Amissa Bongo tour that will be held in April,” Bayigana said.

In the meantime, all Rwandan eyes will be set on the two-time Tour du Rwanda winner and reigning champion, Valens Ndayisenga of Austria-based Tirol Cycling Team to display ‘made-in-Rwanda’ cycling talent.

Stages timeline

  1. PROLOGUE: Sunday, November 12 – Kigali
  2. STAGE 1: Monday, November 13 – Kigali to Huye
  3. STAGE 2: Tuesday, November 14 – Nyanza to Rubavu
  4. STAGE 3: Wednesday, November 15 – Rubavu to Musanze
  5. STAGE 4: Thursday, November 16 – Musanze to Nyamata
  6. STAGE 5: Friday, November 17 – Nyamata to Rwamagana
  7. STAGE 6: Saturday, November 18 – Kayonza to Kigali
  8. STAGE 7: Sunday, November 19 – Kigali