Home Sports Tanzania, Ethiopia Name Squads for Cecafa Challenge Cup

Tanzania, Ethiopia Name Squads for Cecafa Challenge Cup

by Bonnie Mugabe
4:43 pm

Rwanda seen against Tanzania in a CHAN qualifier this year, both sides face-off again in Cecafa Challenge Cup in Tanzania

Rwanda’s Group A opponents Tanzania and Group B side Ethiopia have named their squads for upcoming Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup to be held in Kenya from December 3 to 17, 2017.

Group A is comprised of hosts Kenya, Rwanda (Guest), Libya, Tanzania and  Zanzibar while Group is made up of reigning champions Uganda, Zimbabwe (Guest), Burundi, Burundi, Ethiopia and South Sudan.

The newly appointed Tanzania Head coach Ammy Conrad Ninje unveiled a 20-man squad for the upcoming tournament this week.

The squad has Sony sugar winger Abdalla Hamisi and Singida United keeper Peter Manyika who has had a clean sheet for seven consecutive matches.

Ninje comes with the background of having held a coaching position at Hull City Academy, and will hope to steer the Taifa Stars to Cecafa glory.

In Group B, Ethiopia coach Ashenafi Bekele summoned a 27-man provisional squad on Monday to start preparations for the upcoming regional tournament.

The coach included nine new faces while some veterans managed to get a call up. Welwalo custodian Bereket Amare, Adama Ketema’s midfielder Knean Markneh, Wolaitta Dicha’s striker Tsegaye  Birhanu and Dedebit’s forward Abel Yalew get a maiden call up while veterans like Tesfaye Alebachew, Abebaw Butako and Mesude Mohammed made the cut.

Coach Ashenafi will trim the squad to 23 players in the next fortnight ahead of the CECAFA Cup. The tourney set to begin in Kenya on December 3.

According to Ethiopian media, it was said that the trainer would include many new faces but to the dismay of many most of the squad is comprised of players that have already played for the national team in different occasions leaving coach Ashenafi’s selection questionable.

Guest country Libya will swing into action against Tanzania in the first match of the tournament that returns after a two-year absence.

The Libya versus Tanzania affair will be an early kick off on the daily double header.

Hosts Kenya will open up against Rwanda in the second match on day one, all on December 3, 2017.

Record holders and the reigning champions, Uganda Cranes will play against another guest side Zimbabwe on Monday, December 4.The same day will witness Burundi play Ethiopia in the early kick off.

A total of 20 group stage matches will be played in a period of 8 days.

The best two countries will qualify from the each group for the last four stage.

The finals and third place playoff will come on Sunday, 17th December 2017.

Kakamega, Kisumu and Nakuru are the confirmed venues to host the annual championship.

Kasarani and Machakos were put on stand-by just in case the rest of the venues are not ready by kick off.

Uganda is the most successful country with 14 cups won. 

Tanzania full squad:

Goalkeepers: Aishi Manula and Peter Manyika

Defenders: Boniphace Maganga, Gadiel Michael, Kelvin Yondai, Erasto Nyoni, Mohammed Hussein and Kenny Wilson.

Midfielders: Himid Mao, Hamis Abdullah, Mzamiru Yassin, Raphael David, Jonas Mkude, Shiza Kichuya, Ibrahim Ajiba and Abdul Hilal

Strikers: Elias Maguli, Mbaraka Yusuph, Yohana Mkomola and Daniel Lyanga. 

Ethiopia squad:

Goalkeepers: Tarike Getnet (Dedebit), Bereket Amare (Welwalo Adigrat University), Tekelemariam Shanko (Hawassa Ketema)

Defenders: Girma Bekele (Ethio-Electric), Amsalu Tilahun (Fasil Ketema), Abebaw Butako (Kidus Giorgis), Anagawe Badege (Dire Dawa Ketema), Temesgen Castro (ArbaMinch Ketema), Tewodros Bekele (Mekelakeya), Abebe Tilahun (Sidama Bunna), Henok Adugna (Jimma Aba Jifar).

Midfielders: Samson Tilahun, Mesude Mohammed (Both from Ethiopia Bunna), Tesfaye Alebachew, Biruk Kalbore (Both from Woldia SC), Knean Markneh (Adama Ketema), Endale Kebede (ArbaMinch Ketema), Behailu Teshager (Ethio-Electric), Yonas Geremew (Jimma Aba Jifar), Firew Solomon (Hawassa Ketema).

Forwards: Abdulrahaman Mubarak (Fasil Ketema), Abubakher Sanni (Kidus Giorgis), Addis Gidey (Sidama Bunna), Tsegaye Birhanu (Wolaitta Dicha), Amnauel GebreMikael (Mekele Ketema), Abel Yalew (Dedebit), Dawa Hotessa (Adama Ketema).