Home NewsInternational Kagame Wins African of the Year Award

Kagame Wins African of the Year Award

by Jean de la Croix Tabaro
8:49 am

High Commissioner of Rwanda to South Africa receives the Award on behalf of President Paul Kagame

President Paul Kagame has been bestowed with the African of the Year Award from the All Africa Business Leaders Award (AABLA).

The Award is set to honour business excellence and leaders who have made a considerable impact on their industry and community.

“African of the year award goes to his excellency president Paul Kagame. This winner is also on the cover of Forbes Africa December and January issue,” organizers wrote on their twitter handle.

The All Africa Business Leaders Awards in partnership with CNBC Africa honour remarkable leadership and salute game changers of business on the continent for their continuing commitment to excellence, developing best practices and innovative strategies.

With more than ten categories, the award stands out as one of the African prestigious award.

Winners were awarded during a gala dinner in South Africa last evening and Kagame being in Argentina for G20 summit, his award was received by Rwanda’s High Commissioner to South Africa Vincent Karega.

In other categories, the lifetime achievement award went to Sol Kerzner, South African accountant and business magnate.

The All Africa Philanthropist of the Year Award went to Sir Donald Gordon, Founder of Liberty Group from South Africa while Ethiopian Airlines won the African Company of the Year Award.

Several other Rwandans or business people operating from Rwanda were also on final stage, but did not win.

Beatrice Hamza Bassey, Group General Councel Atlas Mara Ltd was finalist in the category of business Leader of the year for East Africa.

This Award went to Peter Mountford, CEO of Super Group.

Jane Ngige of Kenya Flower Council was also at final stage in the category of Business woman of the year while Janet Nkubana and Joy Ndungutse respectively from Gahaya Links were finalists on Industrial of the year award.

Regis Rugemanshuro from Bank of Kigali is also head of BK TechHouse was also finalist competing for the Innovator of the Year Award.