Home Sports Rutamu Wins Transform Africa Golf Tourney

Rutamu Wins Transform Africa Golf Tourney

by Bonnie Mugabe
5:12 pm

Innocent Rutamu, the overall winner of TAS golf tournament

Innocent Rutamu returned the best score of 69 Net on Thursday evening to win the inaugural Transform Africa Golf Tournament at Kigali Golf Club in Nyarutarama.

The one-day event was organised by Smart Africa, in partnership with Kigali Golf Club.

Players at KGC

Rutamu was the winner in the main Group (One) that also included Byusa Marcel and Kayonga Jack, who carded 72 Net and 75 Net to finish second and third respectively.

Group Two was won by Muronzi Irene, who carded 63 Net, while Mugabe Bosco and Rwabika Steven scored 69 Net and 74 Net to take second and third place in that order.

Andrew Nkwandi

Kankeje Johnson, Ndizeye Roger and Evens Mose finished first, second and third with scores of 70 Net, 73 Net and 74 Net, respectively in Group Three.

The Ladies category was won by Anne Marry, who returned with the best scores of 79 Net, beating Alice Rwigema and Linda Jenny into second and third places with 80 Net and 84 Net, respectively.

Andrew Nkwandi won the seniors category as he returned the best score of 73 Net to go on joint with Biru Rai while Karan Sing managed 75 Net.

Byusa Marcel(Left) receives his award from RDB COO Emmanuel Hategeka


The goal of this tournament was to bring together delegates of the Transform Africa Summit in a friendly environment to relax and conduct business as they collaborate on new ways of shaping, accelerating and sustaining Africa’s digital revolution.

The tournament was also staged as Rwanda’s state of the art Kigali Golf Course club house started its operations on Thursday.

The $3million club house and a 9-hole golf course located in Nyarutarama has been under construction for the past three years with ROKO Construction Company at the pinnacle of implementing the project built on contributions of members.

Transform Africa Golf Tournament

Group I

Rutamu Innocent 69 Net

Byusa Marcel 72

Kayonga Jack 75

 Group II

Muronzi Irene 63 Net

Mugabe Bosco 69

Rwabika Steven 74

Group III

Kankejje Johnson 70 Net

Ndizeye Roger 73

Evens Mose 74

Ladies Category

Anne Marry 79 Net

Alice Rwigema 80

Linda Jenny 84


Andrew Nkwandi 73 Net

Biru Rai 73

Karan Sing 75