Home Sports Kenya Names final Cecafa Squad to Face Rwanda

Kenya Names final Cecafa Squad to Face Rwanda

by Bonnie Mugabe
5:40 pm

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) President Nick Mwendwa addressing the media on Thursday in Nairobi. Internet Photo.

Newly appointed Harambee Stars Head Coach Paul Put has named his final 23-man team which will face Rwanda in the opening match of the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup which kicks off on Sunday in Machakos county, Nairobi city.

Naming the squad on Thursday, Coach Put included Kenyan premier league golden boot winner Massoud Juma who struck 17 times in the league with a hope of bringing the same form to the national team.

Also included alongside him is Nakumatt’s Kepha Aswani and AFC Leopards youngster Vincent Oburu who has been a revelation in the six months he has played at the den.

Other faces included in the squad include; defenders Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United), Charles Momanyi (Kakamega Homeboys), and Isaac Kipyegon (Zoo Kericho) as well as Thika United midfield spoiler Said Tsuma have all earned places in the Harambee Stars squad.

The Belgian snubbed former Ulinzi Stars hitman Stephen Waruru who scored 13 goals in the just concluded season to finish third in the top scorers’ race. Sony Sugar’s Benjamin Mosha and Zoo Kericho’s Nicholas Kipkurui didn’t also make the final squad.

Gor Mahia captain Musa Mohammed alongside Posta Rangers counterpart Jockins Atudo has been named as main and assistant skippers of the Kenyan side.

Meanwhile, Burundi was the first team to jet in on Thursday morning, before Ethiopia in the mid-morning.

More teams are expected on Friday and Saturday, with champions Uganda the only side expected to arrive on road through the Malaba border.

Rwanda’s Amavubi team is expected to depart for Nairobi on Friday. 

Harambee Stars’ CECAFA Squad: 

Goalkeepers: Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers), Gabriel Andika (AFC Leopards). 

Defenders: Musa Mohammed, Wellington Ochieng (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Sikhayi (AFC Leopards), Charles Momanyi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United), Isaac Kipyegon (Zoo Kericho), Wesley Onguso (Sofapaka). 

Midfielders: Duncan Otieno, Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Ernest Wendo (Gor Mahia), Chris Ochieng (Mathare United), Ovellah Ochieng, Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks), Said Tsuma (Thika United), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi Stars). 

Strikers: Kepha Aswani (Nakumatt) Massoud Juma (Kariobangi Sharks), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Vincent Oburu (AFC Leopards).