Home Sports CHAN 2018: Uganda Begins Preparations on Wednesday

CHAN 2018: Uganda Begins Preparations on Wednesday

by Bonnie Mugabe
1:17 pm

Uganda Cranes begin preparations for CHAN on Wednesday. Courtesy Photo

The Uganda Football Federation (FUFA) summoned a 30-man squad to start preparations at Namboole stadium on Wednesday as they gear up for the Total 2018 African Nations Championships in Morocco.

FUFA released a 30-man squad on Monday and it’s from this list that a final 23 man list will be forwarded to CAF for the Championship.

The training program starts on Wednesday 27th December, 2017 at Namboole stadium.

The CHAN tournament will take place between 12th January to 4th February 2018 in Morocco.

Uganda Cranes is in group B alongside Zambia, Cote’Ivoire and Namibia. Group B will be based in Marrakesh city. They will face Zambia in the opening game on January 14, 2018; face Namibia on January 18, 2018 before winding up their quest against Cote d’Ivoire on January 22,2018.

CHAN is a tournament is exclusively played by the domestic players in the respective local leagues.

Holders Democratic Republic of Congo will not be in Morocco after failing to qualify.

Players summoned:

Goalkeepers: Isma Watenga (Vipers Sc), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA FC), Tom Ikara  (J-Kirinya SS), Saidi Keni (Proline FC) 

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Vipers Sc), Joseph Nsubuga (Sc Villa Jogoo), Isaac Muleme (KCCA FC), Aggrey Madoi (Police FC), Timothy Dennis Awanyi (KCCA FC), Bernard Muwanga (Sc Villa Jogoo), Shafiq Bakaki (Vipers SC), Mujuzi Mustapha ( Proline FC), Mustapha Kiiza (KCCA FC). 

Midfielders: Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Tom Masiko (Vipers SC), Ibrahim Saddam Juma (KCCA FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Paul Mucureezi (KCCA FC), Abubaker Kasule (Express FC),  Allan Kateregga (KCCA FC), Allan Kyambadde (SC Villa Jogoo), Shafik Kagimu (URA FC), Nicholas Kasozi (Sc Villa Jogoo) 

Center Forwards: Derrick Nsibambi (KCCA FC), Muhammad Shaban (KCCA FC), Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars FC), Hood Kaweesa (Police FC), Daniel Isiagi (Proline FC),  Brian Ahebwa (Mbarara City FC).