Home Sports Rayon Sports Edge Rivals APR FC to retain 2018 Agaciro Cup

Rayon Sports Edge Rivals APR FC to retain 2018 Agaciro Cup

by Bonnie Mugabe
10:11 pm

Rayon Sports Fc players celebrate the 2018 Agaciro Cup after edging rivals APR Fc at Stade Amahoro on Sunday. Photo-Inyarwanda

Champions Rayon Sports Fc maintained their supremacy over rivals ten-man APR Fc as they registered a slim 1-0 victory to retain the 2018 edition of the Agaciro Football Championship.

The Blues needed 91 minutes to find the winning goal which was scored Mugisha Francois, a goal that broke the hearts of APR FC fans who were rallying behind their team to overturn last year’s disappointment where the same score line was registered in favour of the Blues.

Both sides played a barren first half draw with Bimenyimana Bon Fils Caleb and Savio Nshuti Dominique failing to convert clear chances.

In the second half, more chances were created by the military but Byiringiro Lague and Nshuti Savio could not utilize any.

Striker Bimenyimana, Nova Bayama, Ghanian Sarpong Michael had also clear cut chances that kept APR Fc goalie Kimenyi Yves busy as he made several attempts.

APR Fc had their campaign hindered as their centre back Herve Rugwiro received a 58th minute straight red card following a stupid foul kick on Rayon Sports midfielder Niyonzima Olivier’s neck.

Poor defending in the last additional minute of the game cost APR Fc as Mugisha scored the lone goal from inside the penalty area thanks to a cross from Nova Bayama.

With just a few seconds left to decide the winner on spot kicks, Rayon Sport’s goal sent Rayon fans into wild jubilations leaving their rivals APR Fc in tears.

The winning goal saw Rayon Sports win the 2018 Agaciro Football Championship for a second year running. The Blues pocked Rwf. 2m worth of cash prize while APR Fc received Rwf. 1 million.

AS Kigali won the third place play-off defeating Etincelles FC 2-1 to pocket Rwf. 500,000. Yhe AS Kigali-Etincelles encounter saw three players red carded for inappropriate conduct. They include Etincelles FC pair of MUganza Joachim Koliba and skipper Nahimana Isiaka as well as AS Kigali midfielder Niyonzima Ally

Rayon Sport’s creative midfielder Kevin Muhire emerged the best player of the tournament while the striking trio of AS Kigali forward Ndarusanze Jean Claude, Rayon Sport’s Bimenyimana Bon Fils Caleb and APR Fc’s Byiringiro Lague were honoured as the tournament’s top scorers as each player scored two goals each.

They will each be given an air ticket to travel any of their preferred destinations where RwandAir operates across the globe.

The Agaciro Development Fund football championship is staged annually as part of raising funds towards the Agaciro Development Fund, the country’s sovereign wealth fund.