Home Sports Byukusenge Wins Central Challenge Race

Byukusenge Wins Central Challenge Race

by Bonnie Mugabe
11:06 pm

Byukusenge Patrick won the Central Challenge Race held on Saturday from Musanze District to Muhanga District

Benediction rider and Rwanda Cycling Cup holder Byukusenge Patrick won Saturday’s Central Challenge Race from Musanze to Muhanga finishing head of Twizerane Mathieu. Ruberwa Jean of Nyabihu Club completed podium.

The central Challenge race covered 126km from Musanze District in Northern Province to Muhanga District in the South Province.

Byukusenge completed the second-last serie on the 12-race Rwanda Cycling Cup calendar in 3:32:26.

The Tour du Rwanda reigning champion Samuel Mugisha of Dimension Data finished a distant seventh position, clocking 3:36:08.

In the Junior Boys’ category, Habimana Jean Eric of Fly Club won the 100km race from MUkamira to Muhanga in 2:51:27. He was followed by team mate Iradukunda Emmauel while Les amis Sportifs rider Muhoza Eric finished third.

Moise Mugisha from Skol Fly Club who won the Karongi Challenge triumph last month managed a sixth place finish after clocking 3:34:01.

In the women category, Mukashema Josiane led a 1-2-3 finish for Benediction as they dominated this category, to win the 100km race in 3:36:05. Team mates Izerimana Olive and Mukundente Genevieve completed the podium.

The annual domestic cycling championship, which is in its fourth edition, is organized by Rwanda Cycling Federation in partnership with Skol brewery and Cogebank.

Senior Men Results

Musanze-Muhanga (126km)

1. Byukusenge Patrick (benediction) 3:32:26

2. Twizerane Mathieu (Huye CCA) 3:33:03

3. Ruberwa Jean (Nyabihu Club) 3:33:28

4. Uwiduhaye (Benediction Club) 3:33:40

5. Munyaneza Didier (Benediction Club) 3:34:01


Junior Boys Results

Mukamira-Muhanga (100km)

1. Habimana Jean Eric (Fly Club) 2:51:27

2. Iradukunda Emmanuel (Fly Club) 2:59:50

3. Muhoza Eric (Les Amis Sportifs) 3:00:08

4. Nsabimana Jean Baptista (Fly Club) 3:00:08

5. Niyonshuti Jean Pierre (Fly Club) 3:00:09

 Women Results

Mukamira-Muhanga (100km)

1. Mukashema Josiane (Benediction Club) 3:36:05

2. Izerimana Olive (Benediction Club) 3:36:05

3. Mukundente Genevieve (Benediction Club) 3:36:05

4. Ingabire Diane (Benediction Club) 3:36:05

5. Tuyishimire Jacqueline (Benediction Club) 3:36:05