Home NewsInternational DRC Knocking to Join EAC as 7th Member

DRC Knocking to Join EAC as 7th Member

by Jean de la Croix Tabaro
10:27 am

Felix Tshisekedi Chilombo at his inauguation

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has written to President Paul Kagame, current chairperson of the East African Community asking to join.

A letter dated June 8, 2019 and signed by the head of State, Felix Tshisekedi expresses an interest DRC has in joining the community now made of 6 country members – South Sudan being the latest.

“Following the conversation we had in Kigali and later on in Kinshasa and the interest that showed my country to adhere to the community of the East African Community, I am honored to make an official adhesion request,” reads the letter addressed to President Paul Kagame in part.

Tshisekedi said that, the decision is informed by the “increasing trade between his country and the EAC country members.”

“Would you kindly present to your counterparts – heads of state – our passionate wish to join the organization so that we can contribute to the development of this sub-region,” the letter reads.

Rwanda, Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, Kenya and South Sudan are the six member states of the EAC.

‘The giant of Africa’ totaling 2.3 million square kilometers with 81.3 million habitats(2017),DRC is a big trade to all the EAC member states.

News of the DRC’s request to join EAC was confirmed by Olivier Nduhungirehe, State Minister in charge of East African community at Rwanda’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.