Home Sports Amavubi Squad for CHAN Play-off Tie against Ethiopia Named

Amavubi Squad for CHAN Play-off Tie against Ethiopia Named

by Bonnie Mugabe
10:54 am

Amavubi team seen in a past qualifier against Uganda

The Amavubi technical team has released a 24-man squad for a four-day camp aimed at preparing the scheduled play-off match of the 2018 Africa Nations Championship finals against Ethiopia to be played in November.

Rwanda will face Ethiopia in a play-off match to decide who replaces Egypt in the 2018 African Nations Championship which is set to take place next January in Morocco.

This comes after Egypt withdrew from taking part in the 2018 African Nations Championship last Sunday.

The FERWAFA President, Nzamwita Vincent who is also a member of the organizing committee of the CHAN tournament said recently that the Confederation of African Football (CAF) president Ahmad confirmed to him in person that following Egypt’s withdrawal, Rwanda and Ethiopia will vie for the lone slot in a play-off match which is proposed to be played next month ahead of the drawing ceremony due in Morocco on November 17, 2017.

It is to this end that Amavubi technical team has decided to hold a short camp which will be under the tutelage of German coach Antoine Hey as a way of preparing early and getting to know the players who will be earmarked for the scheduled game.

The provisional squad will join camp on Sunday evening after the climax of match day 4 of the Azam Rwanda Premier League. They will hold double training sessions at Amahoro Stadium from October 30, 2017 to November 1, 2017.

The squad is composed of new faces who have impressed in the Azam Rwanda Premier League such as centre back Usengimana Faustin, left back Rutanga Eric and forward Imanishimwe Djabel, all featuring for Rayon Sports Fc.

Others are APR Fc’s midfielder Hakizimana Muhadjiri, Police Fc duo of Nizeyimana Mirafa and Ndayishimiye Celestin who last featured for Amavubi during 2016 CHAN finals and 2017 Afcon qualifiers, APR Fc’s entertaining forward Maxime Sekamana and SC Kiyovu Nizeyimana Djuma.

The training programme starts on Monday at 9:30am at Amahoro Stadium. 

Amavubi Provisional Squad:

Goalkeepers: Ndayishimiye Eric (Rayon Sports Fc), Nzarora Marcel (Police Fc) and Kimenyi Yves (APR Fc).

Defenders: Manzi Thierry (Rayon Sports Fc), Usengimana Faustin (Rayon Sports Fc), Kayumba Soter (AS Kigali), Ndayishimiye Celestin (Police Fc), Iradukunda Eric (AS Kigali), Herve Rugwiro (APR Fc), Rutanga Eric (Rayon Sports Fc) and Nyandwi Sadam (Rayon Sports Fc)

Midfielders: Bizimana Djihad (APR Fc), Mukunzi Yannick (Rayon Sports Fc), Niyonzima Olivier (Rayon Sports Fc), Hakizimana Muhadjiri (APR Fc), Nshimiyimana Amran (APR Fc), Niyonzima Ally (AS Kigali) and Nizeyimana Mirafa (Police Fc).

Forwards: Mico Justin (Police Fc), Imanishimwe Djabel (Rayon Sports Fc), Biramahire Abeddy (Police Fc), Nshuti Innocent (APR Fc), Nizeyimana Djuma (SC Kiyovu) and Sekamana Maxime (APR FC).