Home Sports Antoine Hey names Amavubi team for Cecafa duty

Antoine Hey names Amavubi team for Cecafa duty

by Bonnie Mugabe
3:52 pm

Amavubi head coach Hey and his assistant Vincent Mashami, give instructions to players during the CHAN 2018 2nd round qualifier against Tanzania in July. Internet Photo

Rwanda National Team Head Coach German Antoine Hey has called 23 players to camp ahead of the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup which begins on December 3, 2017.

Peace Cup holders APR Fc have produced the highest number of players to the squad at nine.

Notably, there are two new call-ups to the team, among them is APR Fc’s right back Omborenga Fitina and SC Kiyovu centre back Ally Mbogo.

Rivals and Azam Rwanda Premier League reigning champions Rayon Sports have seven players, Police Fc and AS Kigali have three players each called up to the national team while SC Kiyovu has only one.

The national team camps starts on Saturday at La Palisse Hotel in Nyamata and training will be held at Amahoro stadium from Sunday morning.

Rwanda is placed in Group A at the CECAFA Challenge Cup, which also has Tanzania, Zanzibar and guest side Libya, who are preparing for the 2018 CHAN finals in Morocco, where Amavubi will also be.

Rwanda faces daunting task against hosts Kenya in Group A in the opening match.

Defending champions, Uganda have been placed in a relatively easy Group B alongside Burundi, South Sudan, Ethiopia and another guest nation, Zimbabwe.

After the opening day, Rwanda will next face Zanzibar on Dec. 5; take on Libya on December 7 before concluding the group stage action with a date against Tanzania on December 9.

Rwanda will use the regional tournament as part of their preparations for next year’s Africa Nations Championship, which will run from January 12 through February 4.

In 2015, Rwanda finished second after losing 0-1 to champions Uganda in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Last year, CECAFA failed to stage its two main annual competitions—the Senior Challenge Cup and Kagame Club Championship.

Rwanda full 23-man squad

Goalkeepers: Kimenyi Yves (APR Fc), Nzarora Marcel (Police Fc) and Eric Ndayishimiye (Rayon Sports Fc)

Defenders: Rugwiro Herve (APR Fc), Omborenga Fitina (APR Fc), Imanishimwe Emmanuel, Manzi Thierry (Rayon Sports), Usengimana Faustin (Rayon Sports), Rutanga Eric (Rayon Sports), Kayumba Soter (AS Kigali), Iradukunda Eric (AS Kigali) and Mbogo Ally (SC Kiyovu).

Midfielders: Bizimana Djihad (APR Fc), Hakizimana Muhadjiri (APR Fc), Nshimiyimana Amran (APR Fc), Mukunzi Yannick (Rayon Sports), Manishimwe Djabel (Rayon Sports), Niyonzima Ally (AS Kigali) and Niyonzima Olivier (Rayon Sports).

Forwards: Nshuti Innocent (APR Fc), Sekamana Maxime (APR Fc), Mico Justin (Police Fc), Biramahire Abeddy (Police Fc).