Home Sports Areruya wins Stage three, Pellaud Retains Yellow Jersey

Areruya wins Stage three, Pellaud Retains Yellow Jersey

by Bonnie Mugabe
2:59 pm

Rwanda and Team Dimension Data rider Joseph Areruya

Rwandan Joseph Areruya registered a second stage victory as he claimed the third stage, a97.1km race from Rubavu to Musanze at the on-going ninth edition of Tour du Rwanda on Wednesday.

Areruya who plies his trade with South Africa’s Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka beat a string group finish as he came ahead of the Columbia’s Edwin Avila who riders for Team Illuminate who finished second and Team Rwanda’s Jean Paul Rene Ukiniwabo.

Today’s stage started with a four circuit race in Rubavu attracting 68 riders before heading to Musanze and Areruya maintained firm performance as he stuck to the leading group which was composed Areruya Joseph, Mugisha Samuel, Main Kent, Stefan de Bod, Munyaneza Didier, Nebratom and Gidei Kibrom.

With 10 km to the finish line, Areruya staged a strong performance as he left a gap of five seconds which he maintained until the end.

He however, bagged the best African and Rwandan rider following his impressive stage performances.

Other Rwandans in the top ten include Tuyishimire Ephrem who rides for Team Rwanda.

On the general classification, Pellaud still maintains grip at the summit of the standings as he is a minute ahead of second-placed Areruya and a minute and seventeen seconds ahead of defending champion Ndayisenga Valens.

The Tour du Rwanda 2017 continues on Thursday with riders heading to Nyamata from Musanze in a grueling 121km race.

Stage three (Rubavu-Muanze) results – 97.1km 

  1. Joseph Areruya (Dimension data for Qhubeka) 02h23’25
  2. Edwin Avila (Team Illuminate) 02h23’25
  3. Jean Paul Rene Ukiniwabo (Team Rwanda) 02h23’23
  4. Simon Pellaud (Team Illuminate)      02h23’25
  5. Metkel Eyob (Dimension data for Qhubeka) 02h23’25
  6. Goudin Valentin (Haute Savoie Auvergne 02h23’25
  7. Mebrahtom Natnael (Eritrea) 02h23’25
  8. Holler Nikodemus (Bike Aid) 02h23’25
  9. Tuyishimire Ephrem (Les Amis Sportif) 02h23’25
  10. debretsion Aron (Eritrea) 02h23’25

General Classification after Stage 3

  1. Simon Pellaud (Team Illuminate) 10h13’47
  2. Joseph Areruya (Dimension data for Qhubeka) 01’00’
  3. Ndayisenga Valens (Tirol cycling team) 01’17’
  4. Kangangi Suleiman (Bike Aid) 01’21
  5. Byukusenge Patrick (Team Rwanda) 01’25’
  6. Okubamariam Tesfom (Eritrea National Team) 01’29’
  7. Munyaneza Didier (Team Rwanda) 01’29’
  8. Jeannes Matthieu (Haute Savoi Auvergne) 01’30’
  9. Eyob Metkel (Dimension Data) 01’38’
  10. Nsengimana Jean Bosco (Team Rwanda) 02’15