Home Sports Rwanda Reach CHAN Morocco 2018 Finals

Rwanda Reach CHAN Morocco 2018 Finals

by Bonnie Mugabe
8:17 pm

Amavubi qualified for CHAN Morrocco after a goalless game in return leg against Ethiopia in Kigali on Sunday

Rwanda completed CAF’s line-up at the Total Africa Nations Championship (CHAN), securing the last of Africa’s berths at Morocco 2018.

Amavubi went into the needing a goalless draw to safeguard their 3-2 goal aggregate secured in the first leg away in Addis Ababa.

In the return leg held on Sunday at Stade de Kigali, Rwanda played a goalless draw against Ethiopia.

The Antoine Hey’s side maintained tactical discipline throughout the game and held onto to seal a draw with a goalless draw.

On a rainy turf, Amavubi endured challenging start to the game as goalie Eric Ndayishimiye saved a fourth minute attempt from Ethiopian skipper Getanhe Kebede following poor communication with centre back Manzi Thierry.

However, Amavubi held on defend well, and got onto their rhythm as they dominated the midfield battle.

In the second half, Rwanda wasted clear cut chances as Mico Justin, Abbedy Biramahire as Ethiopian goalie Jemal Tesaw staged impressive saves to frustrate the hosts.

The draw was enough for Rwanda to seal a place in next year’s continental championship.

Morocco will host the Nations Championship draw in Rabat on November 17, and the tournament in Agadir, Casablanca, Marrakech and Tangier between January 12 and February 4, 2018.

Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Libya, Mauritania, Namibia, Nigeria, Sudan, Uganda and Zambia are the other qualified nations.

Rwanda’s previous appearance at the biennial championship was in 2016 as host and 2011 in Sudan whilst Ethiopia participated at the last two editions, 2014 and 2016.

Starting line-ups:

Amavubi XI: Eric Ndayishimiye [C], Thierry Manzi, Soter Kayumba, Faustin Usengimana, Eric Iradukunda, Eric Rutanga, Yannick Mukunzi, Olivier Niyonzima, Djabel Manishimwe, Abeddy Biramahire & Justin Mico

Ethiopia XI: Jemal Tasew (G), Getaneh Kebede (C),Dawa Hotessa, Aschalew Tamene, Saladhin Bargicho, Abebaw Butako, Henok Adugna, Mulualem Mesfen, Mesud Mohammed, Samson Tilahun and Abubeker Sani.