Home Sports Eight Crews Confirmed for Rally de l’Est

Eight Crews Confirmed for Rally de l’Est

by Bonnie Mugabe
7:02 pm

Giesen Jean Jean seen cruising his Toyota Celica in a past rally event. He is among the favourite winners of Rally de l’Est’ due this weekend

With the 2018 motor rally season getting underway this weekend, anxiety and anticipation is growing among the rally enthusiasts.

Rwanda Automobile Club (RAC) confirmed eight entrants for the season opener, ‘Rally de l’Est’ due this weekend.

The two-day season opener of the annual national motorsport will be held on Saturday and Sunday respectively.

The race is scheduled to start on Saturday with a super stage from CHIC complex parking lot in downtown Kigali from 14:00 to 16:00, and will cover six competitive stages: Kimironko-Bumbogo-Ndera and then back to the service park at La Palisse Nyandungu on Sunday from9am to 15:00.

This year’s edition has attracted eight rally drivers led by Mutuga Janvier and Bukuru Hassan, Gakwaya Eric and Tuyishime Regis and Mbabazi Olivier who will be driving a Subaru Impreza.

Others are Burundian Imitiaz Din who will be navigated by Uwimana Jules in a Toyota Avensis, 2017 Rallye des 1000 Collines winner Giesen Jean Jean and Dewalque Yannik in a Toyota Celica, Fergadiotis Tassos and Shyaka Kevin in a Toyota Corolla,  Kayitankore Lionel navigated by Rutabingwa Gaetan will be driving a Toyota Celica while Semana Genese and Hakizimana Jacques will be driving a Peugeot 205 GTI respectively.

The reigning National Rally Champion Gakwaya Jean Claude will not take part in the opening rally of the season as his car which underwent engine failure is yet to be fixed.

Gakwaya never took part in the final rally of last season after his Blue Subaru Impreza’s engine broke during the Huye Rally in October 2017.