Home Sports CAF U-20 Qualifiers: Rwanda Kicks off Preps Ahead of Zambia Clash

CAF U-20 Qualifiers: Rwanda Kicks off Preps Ahead of Zambia Clash

by Bonnie Mugabe
11:04 pm

The Amavubi U20 team head coach Mashami Vincent seen giving instructions to the Junior Wasps in the first round campaign. Courtesy Photo

The Rwanda Under-20 team will hold their first training session on Monday in Kigali ahead of their 2019 U20 AFCON second round qualifier against Zambia.

Rwanda will lock horns with Zambia on Friday, May 11, 2018 at Stade de Kigali in the first leg of the second round of the CAF U-20 qualifier before heading to Lusaka for the return leg.

The Junior Wasps under the tutelage of head coach Vincent Mashami joined residential camp at Hotel Hill Top in Remeraon Sunday evening. They will hold two sessions at Kicukiro Stadium in the morning and at Stade de Kigali in the afternoon.

Mashami maintained the same pool of players he used during the first round qualifying campaign against Kenya. The professional pair of Dylan Maes (Waasland Beveren U-18) and Samuel Gueulette (KAA Gent U-19) who are expected to link with the team later in the upcoming week have also been included for the second round campaign.

Rwanda will be seeking to edge defending champions Zambia so as to be assured of a place in the third and final qualification round due in July this year.

Rwanda reached the second round after edging Kenya 1-1 on aggregate to qualify on the away-goal rule.

The Junior Wasps had secured a 1-all draw in the first leg played in Machakos with Byiringiro Lague scoring a consolation goal.

Meanwhile, Zambia have been in camp since last week where over 53 players were called for a one-month training camp.

The winner between Rwanda and Zambia will advance to the last qualifying stage in July to play Sudan, Burundi or Ethiopia to decide who qualifies to next year’s Niger finals.

The Junior Wasps 23-man Provisional Squad: 

Goalkeepers: Cyuzuzo Gael (Unity Fc), Ntwari Fiacre (Intare Fc) and Iratugenera Edouard (Mukura VS)

 Defenders:Uwineza Aime Placide (SC Kiyovu), Songayingabo Shaffi (APR Fc), Buregeya Prince (APR Fc), Ndayishimiye Thierry (Marines Fc), Ishimwe Christian (Marines Fc), Nshimiyimana Marc Govin (Intare Fc), Hakizimana Felicien (Intare Fc), Nkubana Marc (Unity Fc) and Dylan Maes (Waasland Beveren U-18).

 Midfielders: Nyilinkindi Saleh (APR Fc), Nshimyumuremyi Gilbert (Intare Fc), Bonane Janvier (SC Kiyovu), Ishimwe Saleh (Unity Fc), Byukusenge Jacob (Intare Fc) and Samuel Gueulette (KAA Gent U-19).

 Strikers: Sindambiwe Protais (INtare Fc), Cyitegetse Bogarde (Bugesera Fc), Byiringiro Lague (APR Fc), Tumusiime Aloysious (Intare Fc) and Mugisha Patrick (Marines Fc)