Home Sports Azam FC Retains 2018 Kagame Cup Champions

Azam FC Retains 2018 Kagame Cup Champions

by Bonnie Mugabe
11:48 pm

Azam FC skipper Aggrey Moris being the Kagame Cup title by Cecafa officials on Friday following the 2-1 win over Simba in the final.

Reigning champions Azam Fc of Tanzania retained the 2018 CECAFA Kagame Cup title after defeating Simba SC in an all-Tanzanian final derby of this year’s regional club championship held on Friday at the National Stadium in Dar es Salaam.

Goals from Shaban Iddi’s header in the 32nd minute and Agreey Morris’s stunning free kick in the 68th minute earned the Tanzanian side a chance to retain the title which they lifted in 2015 at the same venue. Rwandan forward Meddie Kagere scored a consolation goal for the Msimbazi side in the 64th minute.

Iddi who is bound for Spanish second division sideTenerife FC climaxed the tournament with eight goals in five games, having been rested in the semis.

Azam who controlled possession of the game would have ended with a 3-1 goal margin had their Ghanian goalkeeper Razak Abalora converted a second half penalty.

However, Azam FC held onto their good defending to retain the title they won in 2015 when they beat Gor Mahia 2-0, taking home the trophy and USD$30,000 as Simba SC took second place to secure USD$20,000.

Kenyan side Gor Mahia beat JKU SC 2-0 for a third-place play-off 2-0 took home USD$ 10,000, all cash prizes are courtesy of President Paul Kagame annual sponsorship since 2002.

Cecafa Kagame Cup 2018

Third-Place Play-Off

July 13, 2018

Gor Mahia 2-0 JKU


Azam FC 2-1 Simba SC