Haruna Joins Amavubi Camp Ahead of Cote d’Ivoire Qualifier

Amavubi captain Haruna Niyonzima has joined Rwanda National Team camp ahead of next month’s crucial Group H qualifier against Cote d’Ivoire

Amavubi skipper Haruna Niyonzima is the first professional player who joined the national team camp last night ahead of the Africa Cup of Nations Qualifier, second Group H against Cote d’Ivoire which is scheduled to be played on September 9 at Stade de Kigali.

Haruna who plies his trade with Tanzanian champions Simba SC arrived in the country on Tuesday night. He will be part of the national team’s training today which will be staged at Kicukiro turf.

Speaking to KT Press, Haruna said, “We have a tough game ahead of us but I believe we can pick a good result at home despite facing a team of Cote d’Ivoire’s caliber,”

Haruna who has not been in action with his club since July due to unmentioned disagreements also noted, “Just like in every family, I had disagreements with Simba SC Management but everything has been sorted out. I will return back to the club’s fold after the upcoming continental qualifier.

Other foreign players are expected in camp next week. They include; goalkeeper Kwizera Olivier (Free State Stars, South Africa), Salomon Nirisarike (AFC Tubize, Belgium) and Usengimana Faustin (Khitan Sport Club, Kuwait), Bizimana Djihad (Beveren, Belgium), Haruna Niyonzima (Simba SC, Tanzania), Sibomana Patrick (FC Shakhtyor, Belarus), Kagere Meddie (Simba SC, Tanzania), Jack Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia, Kenya) and Usengimana Dany (Tersana FC, Egypt).

Rwanda started the group campaign on a low note, losing 2-1 to the Republic of Central Africa in Bangui in the two sides’ first-leg in June last year.

Amavubi have been drawn in Group H alongside Ivory Coast, the Republic of Central Africa, and Guinea Conakry.

 Rwanda Senior Team Provisional Squad:

Goalkeepers: Kwizera Olivier (Free State Stars, South Africa), Kimenyi Yves (APR FC), Rwabugiri Omar (Mukura VS) and Ntwari Fiacre (Intare FC & U20)

 Defenders: Salomon Nirisarike (AFC Tubize,Belgium), Iragire Saidi (Mukura VS),  Usengimana Faustin (Khitan Sport Club, Kuwait), Rwatubyaye Abdul (Rayon Sports), Rugwiro Herve (APR FC), Manzi Thierry (Rayon Sports), Michel Rusheshangoga (Uncontracted), Emmanuel Manishimwe (APR FC), Fitina Omborenga (APR FC) and Rutanga Eric (Rayon Sports)

 Midfielders: Mukunzi Yannick (Rayon Sports), Mugiraneza Jean Baptiste (APR FC), Niyonzima Ally (AS Kigali), Bizimana Djihad (Beveren, Belgium), Haruna Niyonzima (Simba SC,Tanzania), Buteera Andrew (APR FC), Cyiza Hussein (Mukura VS), Iranzi Jean Claude (APR FC), Muhire Kevin (Rayon Sports), Sibomana Patrick (FC Shakhtyor, Belarus), Ngendahimana Eric (Police FC) and Nizeyimana Djuma (Kiyovu Sports)

 Forwards: Kagere Meddie (Simba SC, Tanzania), Jack Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Usengimana Dany (Tersana FC, Egypt), Hakizimana Muhadjili (APR FC), Mbaraga Jimmy (AS Kigali) and Uwimbabazi Jean Paul (Kirehe FC).

Leave a Comment