Home Sports Tour de Limpopo 2019: Rwandan Manizabayo Clinch Bronze in Stage Three

Tour de Limpopo 2019: Rwandan Manizabayo Clinch Bronze in Stage Three

by Bonnie Mugabe
2:34 pm

Eric Manizabayo a.k.a Karadiyo(third left)

Rwanda’s First UCI Continental Cycling Team rider Eric Manizabayo a.k.a Karadiyo, defied odds as he finished third in stage three of the 2019 Tour de Limpopo at Coach House, Tzaneen on Friday.

The Benediction Excel Energy rider completed the 103km course in a time of2:32:35 to come behind the Dimension Data Continental rider Samuele Battistella who claimed victory on stage three and second-placed rider ProTouch’s Kent Main to complete the podium.

Other Rwandan riders Samuel Mugisha who rides for Dimension Data Continental finished fifth in 2:33:05; Bonaventure Uwizeyimana finished 13th in 2:34:51 while Jean Bosco Nsengimana finished 14th in 2:34:59 respectively.

Youngster Eric Manizabayo staged brilliant performances to finish third in the third stage of Tour du Limpopo on Friday.

On the general classification, Samuele Battistella took yellow jersey with a total time of 8:46:27, Kent Main (ProTouch) is ranked second in a total time of 8:46:29 while Connor Brown (Dimension Data Continental) is placed third in a total time of 8:46:48.

Tour de Limpopo 2019 comes to a climax on Saturday with the final stage which will see riders take on a 116km route from Tzaneen to Polokwane.

 2019 Tour de Limpopo

Stage three Results

1. Samuele Battistella (Dimension Data Continental) 2:32:25

2. Kent Main (ProTouch) 2:32:28

3. Eric Manizabayo (Benediction Excel Energy) 2:32:35

4. Connor Brown (Dimension Data Continental) 2:32:50

5. Samuel Mugisha (Dimension Data Continental) 2:33:05

6. Gustav Basson (TEG) 2:33:24

7. Marc Pritzen (Office Guru) 2:33:36

8. Dylan Girdlestone (Office Guru) 2:33:36

9. Andries Nigrini (ACD) 2:33:43

10. Andrew Edwards (Office Guru) 2:33:51

 General classification

1. Samuele Battistella (Dimension Data Continental) 8:46:27

2. Kent Main (ProTouch) 8:46:29

3. Connor Brown (Dimension Data Continental) 8:46:48

4. Marc Pritzen (OfficeGuru) 8:47:29

5. Dylan Girdlestone (OfficeGuru) 8:47:36

6. Gustav Basson (TEG) 8:48:23

7. Steven van Heerden (Team Enza) 8:48:48

8. James Jobber (VLS) 8:49:50

9. Jason Oosthuizen (TEG) 8:56:42

10. David Maree (Team Enza) 8:56:57