Home Sports Peace Cup 2019: Champs Rayon Nn a Bright Start

Peace Cup 2019: Champs Rayon Nn a Bright Start

by Bonnie Mugabe
12:14 pm

Rayon Sports Fc players celebrating a goal scored by Mutsinzi Ange on Tuesday at Stade de Kigali as the 2019 Peace Cup got underway

Current Azam Rwanda Premier League champions Rayon Sports edged AS Kigali to launch a bright start to their quest of winning the 2019 Peace Cup title.

Mutsinzi Ange scored the all important game as Rayon Sports defeated AS Kigali in the first leg of the first round of the 2019 Peace Cup Competition, in a match which was staged at Stade de Kigali on Tuesday afternoon.

The return leg between Rayon Sports FC and AS Kigali will be staged on June 7 at Stade de Kigali.

In other matches played on Tuesday, Hope FC of Rutsiro wee held to a 2-2 draw by visitors Gasogi United, Mukura VS thrashed Unity SC 3-0 at Stade Huye while Intare FC secured maximum points and three goals without kicking a ball as hosts Interforce FC could not avail an ambulance as stipulated in the Competition Regulations.

Espoir FC is already through to the next round following the withdrawal of Sunrise FC over financial constraints.

Action continues on Wednesday when Police Fc heads to Gicumbi Fc, Bugesera FC is away to Vision Fc at Mumena stadium; APR Fc face Rwamagana City FC, all aiming for this silverware to realize their chance of competing in CAF Interclubs competition next season; Etoile de l’est will be hosting SC Kiyovu in Ngoma while Marines Fc will be hosting Etincelles FC in a Rubau District derby which will be held at Stade Umuganda.

The return legs will be played on June 7 and 8 respectively.

After the first round, winners will proceed to play in the 1/16th round which will attract the five winners plus the best eight losers.

The draw for the 1/16th round will be held on June 8, 2019.

The winner of the 2019 Peace Cup Competition on July 4, 2019 will represent Rwanda at the 2019/2020 CAF Interclubs Competitions slated to start in August, 2019.

 Peace Cup 2019 Competition

June 4, 2019

Hope FC 2-2 Gasogi United

AS Kigali 0-1 Rayon Sports FC

Mukura VS 3-0 Unity SC

Interforce FC 0-3 Intare FC

Sunrise FC vs Espoir FC (Sunrise Fc withdrew, Espoir FC through to next round)

June 5, 2019

Gicumbi FC vs Police FC (Gicumbi, 15h00)

Vision FC vs Bugesera FC (Stade Mumena, 15h00)

APR FC vs Rwamagana City FC (Stade de Kigali, 15h00)

Etoile de l’est FC vs SC Kiyovu (Stade Ngoma, 15h00)

Marines FC vs Etincelles FC (Stade Umuganda, 15h00)

Return Leg

June 7, 2019

Gasogi United vs Hope FC (Stade Kicukiro, 15h00)

Rayon Sports FC vs AS Kigali (Stade de Kigali, 15h00)

Unity SC vs Mukura VS (Mageragere, 15h00)

Intare FC vs Interforce FC (Stade Mumena, 15h00)

June 8, 2019

Police FC vs Gicumbi FC (Stade de Kigali, 15h00)

Bugesera FC vs Vision FC (Stade Kicukiro, 15h00)

Rwamagana City FC vs APR FC (Rwamagana, 15h00)

SC Kiyovu vs Etoile de l’est FC (Stade Mumena, 15h00)

Etincelles FC vs Marines FC (Stade Umuganda, 15h00)