Home Sports Peace Cup 2019: Gasogi Join Rayon in 1/8th Round

Peace Cup 2019: Gasogi Join Rayon in 1/8th Round

by Bonnie Mugabe
6:46 pm

Second Division Club Gasogi United powered into the next round of Peace Cup after edging Hope Fc of Rutsiro on Friday

Second division sides Gasogi United and Intare FC have joined league champions Rayon Sports FC and reigning Cup champions Mukura VS in the 1/8th round of the 2019 Peace Cup title.

The quartet booked their spots after winning their respective first round return legs which was played on Friday.

A lone goal from Gasogi United, which is owned by TV1/Radio Proprietor Kakoza Nkuriza Charles commonly known as KNC, earned them a win over Hope FC to proceed to the next round with a 3-2 goal aggregate at Kicukiro stadium.

In Mageragere, Mukura VS registered a 2-0 win over Unity SC to go through 5-0 on aggregate; Intare FC defeated Interforce FC 1-0 to qualify 4-1 on aggregate while AS Kigali defeated Rayon Sports FC 1-0 but bowed 2-4 on penalties at Stade de Kigali.

Action continues on Saturday with return legs that will see APR FC face Rwamagana City FC in Rwamagana; Police FC hosts Gicumbi FC at Stade de Kigali in a late kick-off slated for 16h00; Etincelles FC hosts Marines FC at Stade Umuganda; Bugesera FC hosts Vision FC at Stade Kicukiro while SC Kiyovu hosts Etoile de l’est at Stade Mumena.

The draw ceremony for 1/8th round will be held on Saturday after the final peace cup between Police FC and Gicumbi FC, the event is scheduled to start at 18h00.

First Round winners and the best eight losers will feature in the 1/8th round with the first leg scheduled to be played on June 12-13 while the return leg is due on June 15-16 respectively.

The winner of the 2019 Peace Cup Competition on July 4, 2019 will represent Rwanda at the 2019/2020 CAF Interclubs Competitions slated to start in August, 2019.

 Peace Cup 2019 Competition

Return Leg

June 7, 2019

Gasogi United 1-0 Hope FC (Agg. 3-2)

Rayon Sports FC 0-1 AS Kigali (Agg. 1-1, Rayon win 4-2 on penalties)

Unity SC 0-2 Mukura VS (Agg. 0-5)

Intare FC 1-1 Interforce FC (Agg. 4-1)

June 8, 2019

Police FC vs Gicumbi FC (Stade de Kigali, 16h00)

Bugesera FC vs Vision FC (Stade Kicukiro, 15h00)

Rwamagana City FC vs APR FC (Rwamagana, 15h00)

SC Kiyovu vs Etoile de l’est FC (Stade Mumena, 15h00)

Etincelles FC vs Marines FC (Stade Umuganda, 15h00)