CECAFA U17: Seven Teams To Compete After Burundi, Sudan and Eritrea Withdrawals 

Seven teams will take part in this year’s Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) U17 tournament after Burundi, Sudan and Eritrea opted to skip the event due to coronavirus concerns.

The regional tournament takes place from December 12 -22.

The seven teams competing this month will be Rwanda,Tanzania,Uganda,South Sudan,Djibouti,Ethiopia and Kenya. 

Consequently, there will only be two groups with defending champions Uganda placed in Group A alongside rivals Kenya, Ethiopia and South Sudan while group B includes host Rwanda, Tanzania and Djibouti. 

Games will be played in two cities with Huye hosting group A while group B matches will be played in Rubavu.

The competition will be used as zonal qualifiers for the 2021 Africa Under-17 Cup of Nations and will see the finalists book their ticket to the continental football showcase in Morocco.

Meanwhile, Rwanda national team has started residential training and Coach Yves Rwasamanzi is expected to name his final squad ahead of the tournament.  

Leave a Comment