Home Sports Afcon Qualifiers: Rwanda Squad Named For Games Against Mazambique, Cameroon 

Afcon Qualifiers: Rwanda Squad Named For Games Against Mazambique, Cameroon 

by Jacques Furaha
8:42 pm

Rwanda head coach Vincent Mashami has named a 31-man squad for this month Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier against Mozambique and Cameroon.

Amavubi will be back in action following their quarter final exit at the recent Africa Nations Championships in Cameroon.

Mashami, who just signed a contract extension to remain with the national team for another year, has chosen a larger squad to deal with both games.

The squad met in Nyamata today where to begin preparations for their first match.

Notable omissions include Djihad Bizimana who has been struggling for game at the Belgian side Waasland- Beveren and Ally Niyonzima who is suspended for the game due to the red card he picked againt Cape Verde.

Tuyisenge Jacques also misses out on Mashami’s latest squad. The striker who captained the side at CHAN tournament,is still nursing an injury he picked in their quarter final game against Guinea.

Mashami’s side will host Mozambique on March 22 before traveling to Douala to face Cameroon in their Group F final game, on March 31.

Amavubi Stars were placed in Group F alongside host Cameroon, Mozambique and Cape-Verde and are yet to win a single game after defeats to Cameroon and Mozambique and draws against Cape Verde.

They sit bottom of Group F, two points adrift of Cape Verde and Mozambique while Cameroon, who have already qualified as hosts, top the group with 10 points.

Mathematically, it is not impossible for Rwanda to qualify for next year’s Afcon in Camerron but they will need a considerable improvement in the final two games of the qualifiers.

Rwanda need to beat Mozambique and Cameroon while hoping the other results to go their way.

Rwanda squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Olivier Kwizera (Rayon Sports FC),Emery Mvuyekure (Tusker FC, Kenya),Eric Ndayishimiye (AS Kigali),Yves Kimenyi (Kiyovu SC)

Defenders: Ange Mutsinzi (APR FC),Fitina Omborenga (APR FC),Abdul Rwatubyaye (FK Shkupi, Armenia),Emery Bayisenge (AS Kigali),Thierry Manzi (APR FC),Salomon Nirisarike (Urartu FC, Armenia),Faustin Usengimana (Police FC),Hassan Rugirayabo (AS Kigali),Eric Rutanga (Police FC),Emmanuel Imanishimwe (APR FC).

Midfielders: Yannick Mukunzi (Sandvikens IF, Sweden),Olivier Niyonzima (APR FC),Steven Rubanguka (AE Karaiskakis Artas, Greece),Bosco Ruboneka (APR FC),Martin Fabrice Twizeyimana (Police FC),Djabel Manishimwe (APR FC),Kevin Muhire (Sahama Club, Oman),Muhadjir Hakizimana (AS Kigali),Haruna Niyonzima (Young SC, Tanzania),Eric Ngendahimana (Police FC).

Forwards:Jean Bertrand Iradukunda (Gasogi United),Meddie Kagere (Simba SC),Dominique Savio Nshuti (Police FC),Ernest Sugira (Rayon Sports FC),Lague Byiringiro (APR FC),Danny Usengimana (APR FC),Osée Iyabivuze (Police FC).

Related Posts