Home NewsNational Approved


by Jean de la Croix Tabaro
6:55 pm

Dancilla Nyirarugero

The Senate has today approved senior officials that were appointed by the Head of State two days ago after a report from the Senate Political and Governance Commission confirmed that they fulfill requirements for their respective positions and related responsibilities.

Approved were three provincial governors and one deputy Ombudsman.

The governors include Dancilla Nyirarugero, the governor of Northern Province who replaced Jean Marie Vianney Gatabazi who was appointed Minister of Local Government on Monday.

Gatabazi had been re-appointed governor of Northern Province after nearly two months suspension that intended to investigate a case of accountability on him since May 2020. Upon his suspension, he appologised. In July, he was reinstated.

Francois Habitegeko

Back to the new governor, Nyirarugero is an economist by training with two Master’s Degree from Uganda and Germany respectively.

She has been working as Dean of Economic program at Muhabura Polytechnic, a technical school in her home town of Musanze district.

Also approved is Emmanuel Gasana who was appointed Governor of Eastern Province replacing Fred Mufulukye who was serving in this capacity since September 2017.

Emmanuel Gasana

Gasana was suspended in May 2020 pending an investigation of an accountability case against him.

The third governor to be approved is Francois Habitegeko for the Western Province. Habitegeko has been serving as Mayor 0f Nyaruguru district, Southern Province. His district was best performing district in the last performance contract-imihigo.

He is commended for having tremendously turned around the remote district, putting it at a good pace on national arena.

Odette Yankurije

The Senate further approved Odette Yankurije who was appointed Deputy Ombudsman in charge of preventing and fighting injustice. Yankurije is serving her second term.

Related Posts