Home Sports Fifteen Riders Named for 2017 Tour du Rwanda

Fifteen Riders Named for 2017 Tour du Rwanda

by Bonnie Mugabe
8:01 am

Rwandan cyclists Joseph Areruya, Valens Ndayisenga and Samuel Mugisha are among those looking to win Tour du Rwanda 2017

With just over two weeks left to the 2017 Tour du Rwanda edition, Rwanda Cycling Federation (FERWACY) has released a list of 15 cyclists that will carry the country’s flag at the 9th leg of the UCI-Africa Tour 2.2 road race scheduled on November 12-19th.

The 15 riders were confirmed on Wednesday after last weekend’s 2017 Rwanda Cycling Cup series held in Rubavu and Musanze respectively.

The two-day event held last weekend which was dominated by Dimension Data Club rider Samuel Mugisha and Benediction Club rider Patrick Byukusenge saw cyclists riding a 95-km race which started with a four-lap circuit in Rubavu and finished with a bunch finish in Musanze.

It was staged by Rwanda Cycling Federation (FERWACY) as part of a final warm-up aimed at giving cyclists experience on two routes added onto this year’s Tour du Rwanda.

The riders named will compose the three national teams namely Team Rwanda, Rubavu’s Benediction Club and Les Amis Sportifs from Rwamagana.

Team Rwanda will be led by Nsengimana Jean Bosco, Uwizeye Jean Claude, Patrick Byukusenge, Ukiniwabo Rene Jean Paul and Munyaneza Didier.

Benediction Club will be comprised of Hategeka Gasore, Ruberwa Jean, Uwizeyimana Bonaventure, Nduwayo Eric and Nizeyimana Alex.

On-form Munyaneza Didier will be making his debut for Team Rwanda at the 2017 Tour du Rwanda

Others namely Samuel Hakiruwizeye, Rugamba Janvier, Mfitumukiza Jean Claude,  Uwingeneye Jimmy and Tuyishimire Ephrem will feature Les Amis Sportifs.

A total of 17 teams from different parts of the world are set to grace this year’s 2.2 UCI Africa road race tour that will cover a total distance of 819km in seven stages.

Meanwhile, UCI continental teams expected to take part in this year’s Tour du Rwanda include; Dimension Data For Qhubeka (South-Africa), Tirol Cycling Team (Austria), Team Bike Aid (Germany), Team Illuminate (USA), Dukla Banska Bystrica (Slovakia) and Interpro Cycling Academy (Japan).

They will be joined by national riders from Mauritius, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Morocco, Algeria and hosts Rwanda. Club teams such as Team Lowestrates.com (Canada), Team Haute-Savoie/Auvergne (France) and Team Kenya Riders Safaricom (Kenya) will join also take part in the event.

After becoming part of UCI Africa tour 2009, Valens Ndayisenga made history by becoming the first Rwandan rider to win Tour du Rwanda in 2014.

Jean Bosco Nsengimana won the 2015 edition and Ndayisenga repeated the 2014 feat in the 2016 edition, making him the first rider ever to claim it two times.

Ndayisenga will defend this year’s edition in Tirol Cycling Team colours after being signed from Dimension Data.

2017 Tour du Rwanda Routes:

12/11/2017: Individual Time Trial (Kigali)

13/11/2017: Kigali-Huye (120,3km)

14/11/2017: Nyanza-Rubavu (180km)

15/11/2017: Rubavu-Musanze (95km)

16/11/2017: Musanze Nyamata (121km)

17/11/2017: Nyamata-Rwamagana (93.1km)

18/11/2017: Kayonza-Stade de Kigali (86.3km)

19/11/2017: Kigali-Kigali (120km)