Home Sports Tour du Rwanda: Eyob Metkel Wins Sixth Stage

Tour du Rwanda: Eyob Metkel Wins Sixth Stage

by Williams Buningwire
4:44 pm


Eyob Metkel Wins Sixth Stage

Action continued this Saturday with riders taking on the 86km-race from kayonza to Rwanda’s capital Kigali. Sixty two riders started the race in kayonza town at 11:00am heading to the finish line at Nyamirambo.

Right from the starting line, it was a hustle for the group battling for who would be at the fore-front.

While the riders edged closer to Nyagasambu town, Rwamagana district, it was now Team Dimension Data’s Jean Ruberwa and Natnael Nebratom of the Eritrea national team heading the group with 1minnute and 10 seconds.

The Duo, Eyob metkel and Joseph Areruya for the team dimension data for Qhubeka made an impressive counter attack hence over taking the race.

Upon reaching the finish line in Nyamirambo, Qhubeka Eyob Metkel of Team Dimension Data got the impressive victory of 1:58:55 and Joseph Areruya coming after him three seconds.

Eritrea’s Debretsion  took the third placed and Rwanda prologue winner Nsengimana Jean Bosco Rwanda arrived in the fourth position.

Thousands of Rwandans gathered along the highways to cheer cyclists.

Today’s 86km stretch started from kayonza in eastern province through Rwamagana-musha –Kigali Parents-Kimironko-Kibagabaga-Kabuga via Nyarutarama-Kagugu-Gisozi genocide  memorial sites-Kimisagara to the finishing line in Nyamirambo.

The final stage in the tournament remains in Kigali with 10-laps of the capital starting and finishing at the Amahoro Stadium.

While, the final day of racing provides an opportunity to attack and move up the rankings and force one final shake-out of the classification.

The 2017 Tour du Rwanda will cover a total distance of 819kilometers.

However, Tour du Rwanda, one of the Rwanda and Africa’s most loved stage races, will have its rating upgraded by the UCI to 2.1 from 2.2 category in 2019.

Individual classification of stage six 86km.

1.EYOB Metkel                                 Dimension Data for Qhubeka                1:58:55.

2.ARERUYA Joseph                        Dimension Data for Qhubeka                 0:03.

3. DEBRETSION Aron national team Eritrea.

4.NSENGIMANA Jean Bosco      Rwanda                      ,,                                        0:03.

5.MAIN Kent                                          Dimension Data for Qhubeka                       0:11.

6.BYUKUSENGE Patrick                     Rwanda                                                         0:03.

7.KANGANGI Suleiman                         Bike Aid                                          0:19.

8.PIPER Cameron                          Team Illuminate                                    0:25.

9.JEANNES Matthieu                                 Team Haute Savoie                        0:27

10. EBRAHIM Redwan