Home Sports Nyirarukundo, Muhitira win Kigali Half Marathon

Nyirarukundo, Muhitira win Kigali Half Marathon

by Bonnie Mugabe
10:50 am

Nyirarukundo Salome won the inaugural Kigali Half Marathon on Sunday. Courtesy Photo

Women’s results (Top 5)

  1. Nyirarukundo Salome (APR) 1h15:12
  2. IranziCeline (APR) 1h19:36
  3. Yankurije Marthe (APR) 1h20:27
  4. Niyirora Primitive (NAS) 1h25:10
  5. Niragire Vivine (APR) 1h25:11

Men’s Results (Top 5)

  1. Muhitira Felicien (Mcac) 1h05:23
  2. Sugira James (Mcac) 1h05:24
  3. Hakizimana John (APR)1h05:28
  4. Tuyishime Christophe (APR) 1h05:45
  5. Gakuru Dawidi (Police) 1h06:03

Salome Nyirarukunda and Felicien ‘Magare’ Muhitira won the first edition of the Kigali Half Marathon staged on Sunday in Kigali City.

The 21km Kigali Half Marathon was organsied by the Rwanda Athletic Federation (RAF) as a preparational test for local atheltes ahead of the 14th edition of the Kigali International Peace Marathon which will be held in Kigali on May 20th.

On Sunday, the first competitive athletics race of the year attracted over 200 athletes from various clubs and districts of the country.

Athletes started the race at Amahoro National Stadium,heading to Gishushu-RDB Headquarters-MTN Center-Mu Kabuga-Abardeen Hotel-Nyarutarama-Kacyiru-Umubano Hotel-RDB-Controle Technique and before climaxing at Amahoro National Stadium.

In the women category, Nyirarukundo dominated a 1-2-3 APR athletics finish as she clocked 1h15:12 to come ahead of Iranzi Celine who used 1h19:36 while Yankurije Marthe finished third clocking 1h20:27, Niyirora Primitive (NAS) finished fourth after clocking 1h25:10 while Niragire Vivine (APR) clocked 1h25:11 to complete the top five ranking of the race. Out of 108 wmen athletes who had registered for the half marathon, only 78 women athletes finished the race.

In the men’s category, Muhitira of Mcac club won the half marathon in 1h05:23,coming ahead of club mate Sugira James who clocked 1h05:24 while APR athletics pair of Hakizimana John and Tuyishime Christophe clocked 1h05:28 and 1h05:45 respectively with Police club athlete Gakuru Dawidi finishing fifth after clocking 1h06:03.

Out of the 148 registered men athletes, only 122 completed the race.