Home Sports Mashami Summons Professional Trio to Boost Junior Wasps Preps

Mashami Summons Professional Trio to Boost Junior Wasps Preps

by Bonnie Mugabe
7:22 pm

Coach Mashami Vincent seen giving instructions to his players during the first leg tie played away in Kenya. Courtesy Photo

The National U-20 football team, head coach Mashami Vincent has summoned three professional junior players to boost the Junior Wasps ambitions of reaching the second round of the Africa U-20 Cup of Nations.

The Junior Wasps started preparations on Tuesday with 23 players reporting to camp at Hill Top Hotelon Tuesday morning.

They then held their first training session later at Stade de Kigali as they seek to eliminate Kenya when both teams meet in the return leg of the Africa U-20 Nations Cup qualifiers.

Rwanda goes into the return leg on April 21 with an away goal advantage (1-1) secured in the first leg played on April 1 in Machakos, Kenya.

The summoned trio who are expected in Kigali on Wednesday include; Belgium-based duo of defender Dylan Maes who plays for Belgium’s Waasland Beveren U-18 team, midfielder Samuel Gueulette who plays for Belgium’s KAA Gent U-19 side and Ugandan based midfielder Mugabo Tumwine Azeedi who plays for Ugandan side Bul Fc’s Junior team.

If the Junior Wasps qualify for the next round, they will meet defending champions Zambia.

The final qualifying round will be staged in July with the winner earning a slot to next year’s Africa U-20 Cup of Nations finals tournament in Niger.

 The Junior Wasps Provisional Squad:

 Goalkeepers: Cyuzuzo Gael (Unity Fc), Ntwari Fiacre (Intare Fc) and Iratugenera Edouard (Mukura VS)

 Defenders:Uwineza Aime Placide (SC Kiyovu), Songayingabo Shaffi (APR Fc), Buregeya Prince (APR Fc), Ndayishimiye Thierry (Marines Fc), Ishimwe Christian (Marines Fc), Nshimiyimana Marc Govin (Intare Fc), Hakizimana Felicien (Intare Fc), Niyigena Clement (Intare Fc), Nkubana Marc (Unity Fc) and Dylan Maes

(Waasland Beveren U-18).

 Midfielders: Nyilinkindi Saleh (APR Fc), Nshimyumuremyi Gilbert (Intare Fc), Bonane Janvier (SC Kiyovu), Ishimwe Saleh (Unity Fc), Byukusenge Yakuba (Intare Fc), Uwimana Emmanuel (Intare Fc), Mugabo Tumwine Azeedi (Bul Fc Junior team) and Samuel Gueulette (KAA Gent U-19).

 Strikers: Sindambiwe Protais (INtare Fc), Cyitegetse Bogarde (Bugesera Fc), Byiringiro Lague (APR Fc), Tumusiime Aloysious (Intare Fc) and Mugisha Patrick (Marines Fc)