Home Sports REG, APR Basketball Clubs Lift International GMT Honors

REG, APR Basketball Clubs Lift International GMT Honors

by Bonnie Mugabe
11:44 am

Rwanda Energy Group (REG) were crowned International GMT winners after overcoming rivals Patriots on Sunday at Amahoro Petit Stadium. Courtesy Photo

Champions REG and APR Basketball Clubs lifted the 2018 International Genocide Memorial Tournament honors in men and women’s categories on Sunday night at Petit Stade Remera.

In the men’s category, REG BBC defeated arch rivals Patriots 73-67 in the final played at a fully packed Petit Stadium. The victory was a double for Coach Cyrille Kalima’s side who last week had won the local edition of the Genocide Memorial Tournament.

The final encounter between REG and Patriots was more of a revenge affair for REG BBC who lost the league title to rivals Patriots three weeks ago.

Thanks to skilled player Kami Kabange who won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award following excellent performances that saw him hit 17 points, REG won the first two quarters 24-20 and 15-12 to go into half time with a 39-32 lead.

Patriots responded in the second half to win the third quarter 14-4 before both sides headed into a decisive quarter in which Patriots led 46-43.

REG held onto their excellent skills and experience to win the last quarter and inspire the 2017 champions to a 30-21 final quarter victory, thanks to pivotal roles played by Kabange, Kaje, Olivier Shyaka, Benjamin Mukengerwa and skipper Ali Kubwimana.

REG’s Kami Kabange receiving the MVP awards from the Rwanda Basketball Federation chairman Desire Mugwiza on Sunday. Courtesy Photo

Patriots’ best player was shooting guard Steven Hagumintwari who hit 16 points.

With a six-point victory, the International Genocide Memorial Tournament sealed a treble for REG following the National Heroes Day title won in February and the GMT local edition a week ago.

In the women’s category, APR women BBC edged IPRC-South 63-61 (14-13, 16-18, 14-21 and 19-9) to lift the title with point-guard Sandra Kantore scoring 22 points.

Rwanda international Kabange went home with the MVP award in the men category, APR’s Burundian guard Kantore snatched the award in the women’s category, while Espoir’s Aime Nkusi Kharim scooped the accolade in the veterans’ competition with each category winner pocketing RWf. 1m in prize money.

Espoir Veterans BBC won the veterans tourney following a 69-63 victory over DR Congo’s Goma Basketball Club.

 International GMT

Sunday – finals


Patriots BBC 67-73 REG BBC


APR BBC 63-61 IPRC-South BBC


Espoir BBC 69-63 VCGB (DR Congo)

 Individual awards

MVP Men: Kami Kabange (REG)

MVP Women: Sandra Kantore (APR)

MVP Veterans: Aime Nkusi Karim (Espoir)