Home Sports CECAFA Kagame Cup 2018 Gets Underway in Dar es Salaam on Friday

CECAFA Kagame Cup 2018 Gets Underway in Dar es Salaam on Friday

by Bonnie Mugabe
11:43 pm

Butera Andrew who has been in impressive form for APR Fc this month is the latest additional player to the Amavubi team currently preparing for the Cecafa Challenge Cup.Courtesy Photo

Azam Rwanda Premier League champions APR Fc start the 2018 CECAFA Kagame Cup title campaign on Friday when they take on Tanzanian side Singida United in the opening match of Group C which will be staged at 6pm at the National Stadium in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

APR Fc and Singida United were drafted into the Cecafa Kagame Cup as a result of the late withdrawal of Tanzanian giants Yanga SC and St. George of Ethiopia.

The military side faces Singida in a must-win encounter if they are to gain grounds for other games. APR Fc arrived in Dar es Salaam on Thursday afternoon ahead of Friday’s crucial encounter.

APR Fc coach Ljubomir ‘Ljupko’ Petrovic who will be managing his maiden regional tournament is confident on his team’s performances.

“The opening game is always very tricky and challenging in such a tournament. I am confident and I believe my players will maintain their recent form to start a win over Singida United,” added Petrovic who this week guided APR Fc to their 17th league title.

APR Fc who have won three CECAFA Club Cup in 2004, 2007, 2010 is placed alongside Tanzanian giants Simba and Somalia’s Dakadaha.

The 2018 CECAFA Kagame Club Tournament which returns after a three-year break starts at 1pm with Zanzibar’s JKU taking on Ugandan league champions Vipers SC while holders Azam FC will be up against South Sudan’s Kator FC in Group A encounters which will be held at Chamazi Stadium.

Rwanda President Paul Kagame has been supporting the regional Club Championship with US$60,000 as cash prize since 2002.

Meanwhile, Rayon Sports FC who are begin their Group B action on Sunday is expected in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania on Friday afternoon.

Cecafa Kagame Club Championship Groups: 

Group A: Azam FC (Tanzania), Vipers SC (Uganda), JKU FC (Zanzibar), Kator FC (South Sudan).

Group B: Rayon Sport (Rwanda), Gor Mahia (Kenya), Lydia Ludic FC (Burundi), Ports FC (Djibouti)

Group C: Singida FC (Tanzania), Simba SC (TZ), APR FC (Rwanda), Dakadaha FC (Somalia)

Opening Fixtures

Friday, June 29

Group A

JKU (Zan) vs Vipers (Uga) – Chamazi Stadium, 1pm

Azam FC (Tan) vs Kator FC (S.Sudan) – Chamazi 3pm

Group C

Singida United (Tan) vs APR FC (Rwa) –National Stadium, 6pm