Rwandan Mukansanga Selected for FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup

Mukansanga seen in last month’s FIFA MA Referees course undergoing the fitness test at Amahoro stadium..jpg

Rwanda’s top professional referee Salma Rhadia Mukansanga has been selected for the upcoming FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup which will be staged in Uruguay from November 13 to December 1, 2018.

The 28-aged old is the only centre referee picked from Africa and she will be joined by two African assistant referees namely; Kone Fanta Idrissa from Mali and Some Bielignin from Burkina Faso.

Speaking to KT Sports on Friday, Mukansanga expressed excitement and pledged not to disappoint but stage excellent performances in matches that she will be appointed to handle.

“I am very excited to land this appointment and I am very proud to be the first Rwandan woman who will officiate at a FIFA World Cup final. With Allah nothing is impossible; my dreams have become true,”

“This is an immense opportunity for me to take my career to another level, I hope to benefit a lot from this experience,” added Mukansanga.

Mukansanga will handle the FIFA World Cup tournament alongside AFC Duo of Reibelt Casey (Australia) and Yamashita Yoshimi (Japan), CONCACAF trio of Beaudoin Marie-Soleil (Canada), Koroleva Ekaterina (USA) and Venegas Lucila (Mexico), OFC referee Vulivuli Finau from Fiji, UEFA officials of Hussein Riem of Germany, Kulcsar Katalin (Hungary), Mularczyk (Poland), Persson Sara (Sweden) and Pustovoytova Anastasia from Russia and Conmebol trio of Carvajal Maria of Chile, Fortunato Laura (Argetina) and Miranda Olga from Paraguay.

Mukasanga began her refereeing career in 2007 before becoming an international referee in 2012. Since then, she has officiated at major tournaments, including Africa U-17 and U-20 finals as well as senior World Cup preliminary games, 2015 All African Games, and the 2015 CECAFA women challenge that took place in Jinja, Uganda.

Rwanda’s women referee Salma Rhadia Mukasanga is set to make history by being the first Rwandan women to officiate at a FIFA World Cup Final.jpg

The 2018 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup will be the 6th edition of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, the biennial international women’s youth football championship contested by the under-17 national teams of the member associations of FIFA, since its inception in 2008.

The tournament will be held in Uruguay from 13 November to 1 December 2018.  North Korea is the defending champions.

Centre Referees:

CAF: Mukansanga Rhadia Salma

AFC: Reibelt Casey (Australia) and Yamashita Yoshimi (Japan)

CONCACAF: Beaudoin Marie-Soleil (Canada), Koroleva Ekaterina (USA) and Venegas Lucila (Mexico)

OFC: Vulivuli Finau (Fiji)

UEFA: Hussein Riem of Germany, Kulcsar Katalin (Hungary), Mularczyk (Poland), Persson Sara (Sweden) and Pustovoytova Anastasia (Russia)

CONMEBOL: Carvajal Maria of Chile, Fortunato Laura (Argetina) and Miranda Olga (Paraguay).

Assistant Referees

AFC: Bozono Makoto (Japan), Lee Seul Gi (Korea), Teshirogi Naomi (Japan) and Truong Thi Le Trinh (Vietnam)

CAF: Kone Fanta Idrissa (Mali), Some Bielignin (Burkina Faso)

CONCACAF: Brown Princess (Jamaica), Chavez  Mayte (Mexico), Caudillo Enedina (Mexico), Mariscal Felisha (USA), Quan Deleana (USA), Yee Sing Stephanie-Dale)

CONMEBOL: Blanco Bolivar Mary Cristina (Colombia), De Almedia Mariana (Argentina), Gamarra Nilda (Paraguay), Rocco Maria (Argentina), Toloza Loreto (Chile) and Vasquez Leslie (Chile)

OFC: Jones Sarah (New Zealand)

UEFA: Ardasheva Olkesandra (Ukraine), Bakker Nicolet (Netherlands), Cockburn Kylie (Scotland), Kurochkina Ekaterina (Russia), Magnusson Julia (Sweden), Puente Pino Rocio (Spain), Rashid Lisa (England), Ratajova Lucie (Czech Republic), Sukenikova Maria (Slovakia), Tepusa Mihaela (Romania) and Torok Katalin (Hungary).

Leave a Comment