Home Sports Gasore Takes Race for Culture to Keep Rwanda Cycling Cup 2018 Title Hopes Alive

Gasore Takes Race for Culture to Keep Rwanda Cycling Cup 2018 Title Hopes Alive

by Bonnie Mugabe
1:10 pm

Gasore Hategeka won Saturday’s Race for Culture to cement his victory for 2018 Rwanda Cycling Cup Edition

Nyabihu Cycling Club rider Gasore Hategeka kept his hopes of winning this year’s edition of the 2018 Rwanda Cycling Cup alive after claiming the penultimate ‘Race for Culture’ on Saturday in Rwamagana.

Hategeka cemented his title hopes after clocking three hours, 49 minutes and 15 seconds to finish the 145km race ahead of 23 other riders who were competing in the men’s & elite race category. The Race for Culture started in Nyanza and climaxed in Rwamagana for the Men’s elite and U-23 category.

Hategeka crossed the finish line 400m ahead of Les Amis Sportif rider Hakizimana Seth who managed a second-place finish and SKOL Rwanda sponsored Fly Cycling club rider Mugisha Moise who rose to the podium in third spot.

Gahemba Barnabe won the men’s junior race

French based side Delko Marseille rider Areruya Joseph who was using this race as a training session finished ninth after using 3h53’50″.

In other categories, Tuyishimire Jacqueline ensured a 1-2-3 finish for Benediction Club as she won the women’s 114km category from Muhanga to Rwamagana in 3h35’35″. Ingabire Diane and Tumukunde Genevieve finished second and third respectively.

In the Junior Boys’ category, Les Amis Sportifs rider Gahemba Barnabe won the 114km in 3h06’20″ with Nsabimana Jean Baptiste from Fly Cycling Club and Muhoza Eric from Les Amis Sportifs finishing second and third respectively.

With the Race for Culture title, Hategeka cemented his place on the overall Rwanda Cycling Cup Standings with 149 points, 33 points ahead of second-placed, Mugisha from Fly Cycling Club.

Tuyishimire Jacqueline won the women’s race

With the current standings, Hategeka is likely to be crowned 2018 Rwanda Cycling Cup title champion regardless his performances in the final serie of the Rwanda Cycling Cup which will be held on December 15 in Kigali City.

Gasore will also be gunning to be the first rider to win the highly coveted title twice following his 2016 triumph.

The annual domestic cycling championship, which is in its fourth edition, is organized by Rwanda Cycling Federation in partnership with Skol brewery and Cogebank.

 Race for Culture (Nyanza-Rwamagana (157km)

Elite & U-23 Men’s Category

Saturday Results

1. Gasore Hategeka (Nyabihu Cycling Team) 3h49’15″

2. Hakizimana Seth (Les Amis Sportifs) 3h 49’ 15″

3. Mugisha Moise (Fly Cycling Club) 3h49’15″

4. Hakiruwizeye Samuel (CCA) 3h49’17″

5. Nkurunziza Yves (Benediction Club) 3h49’17″

6. Niyireba Innocent (Benediction Club) 3h49’21″

7. Gashiramanga Eugene (Les Amis Sportifs) 3h49’35″

8. Rugamba Janvier (Les Amis Sportifs) 3h49’38″

9. Areruya Joseph (Delko Marseille) 3h53’50″

10. Dukuzumuremyi Fidele (Fly Cycling Club) 3h53’50″

 Women Category (Top 3)

1. Tuyishimire Jacqueline (Benediction Club) 3h35’35″

2. Ingabire Diane (Benediction Club) 3h35’35″

3. Tumukunde Genevieve (Benediction Club) 3h35’35″


Junior (Boys) category (Top 3)

1. Gahemba Bernabé (Les Amis Sportifs) 3h06’20″

2. Nsabimana Jean Baptiste (Fly Cycling Club) 3h06’20″

3. Muhoza Eric (Les Amis Sportifs) 3h06’20″

Tentative Rwanda Cycling Cup Standings (Top 5)

1. Gasore Hategeka (Nyabihu Cycling Club)-149 points

2. Mugisha Moise (Fly Cycling Club) -116 points

3. Hakizimana Seth (Les Amis Sportifs) – 116 points

4. Byukusenge Patrick (Benediction Cycling Club) -112 points

5. Uwizeyimana Bonaventure (Benediction Club) -104 points