Home Sports Cecafa Kagame Cup: APR FC Opens Account Against Proline FC

Cecafa Kagame Cup: APR FC Opens Account Against Proline FC

by Bonnie Mugabe
6:23 pm

APR FC Hakizimana Muhadjiri seen in action in a local league, will be the main striker when APR FC starts its account for the 2019 CECAFA Kagame Cup campaign

Three-time Cecafa Kagame Cup winners APR FC opens the CECAFA Kagame Cup 2019 account against Ugandan side Proline FC on July 6 at Stade de Kigali.

The CECAFA Secretary General Nicholas Musonye released the fixtures of the upcoming Cecafa Kagame Cup on Thursday.

The opening day of the two-week tournament will see Group C teams spicing up the tournament at Stade de Kigali.

On July 6, 2019, Somalia side Heegan FC facing Zambia’s representatives Green Buffaloes at 13h00 before the opening ceremony gets underway at 15h00.

At 16h00, the main game of the day will see APR FC who have had a torrid side this season taking on Ugandan side Proline FC at 16h00.

On July 7, Huye Stadium will host Group B action where Bandari FC will host Ugandan league champions KCCA at 13h00 while reigning champions Azam FC will face home side Mukura VS at 15h30.

On the same day, Stade de Kigali will be hosting Group A action where Tanzanian side KMC Fc will face South Sudan representative Atlabara FC at 13h00 before Rwandan league champions Rayon Sports host DR Congo and former CAF Champions league champions TP Mazembe at 15h30.

The region’s oldest continental club championship is slated to climax on July 21 with two teams from each group advance to the quarter finals.

The winner of the annual tournament stands to pocket $30,000 (Rwf. 27 million) in prize money while runners up will receive $20,000 (Rwf. 18 million) and $10,000 (Rwf. 9 million) respectively.

 Cecafa Kagame Cup Fixtures

Group A: Rayon Sports FC, TP Mazembe, KMC, Atlabara

Group B: Azam FC, Mukura VS, Bandari FC, KCCA

Group C: APR FC, Proline FC, Green Buffaloes & Heegan FC

Group D: Gor Mahia, DCMP, KMKM & AS Ports


July 6, 2019

Group C

Heegan FC vs Green Buffaloes (Stade de Kigali, 13h00)

APR FC vs Proline FC (Stade de Kigali, 16h00)

 July 7, 2019

Group B

Bandari FC vs KCCA (Stade Huye, 13h00)

Azam FC vs Mukura VS (Stade Huye, 15h30)

 Group A

KMC FC vs Atlabara FC (Stade de Kigali, 13h00)

Rayon Sports FC vs TP Mazembe (Stade de Kigali, 15h30)