Home Sports Rwanda Women’s Team Begins Preps Ahead of Cecafa Women Challenge Cup

Rwanda Women’s Team Begins Preps Ahead of Cecafa Women Challenge Cup

by Bonnie Mugabe
4:36 pm

National Women Football Team Head Coach Kayiranga Jean Baptista

The Rwanda Women’s football team begins intensive training on Monday in preparation for next month’s CECAFA Women Challenge Cup which will be staged in Kigali, Rwanda.

The tournament which will run from May 11-22, 2018 at Stade de Kigali will attract teams from eight countries, namely; Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zanzibar, Burundi, Ethiopia, Djibouti and hosts Rwanda. Eritrea and South Sudan are yet to confirm participation.

The team which will be trained by veteran coach Kayiranga Jean Baptista starts preparations with a four-day selection stint which will be held from Monday to Wednesday at Ferwafa turf.

Forty players have been summoned to undergo the pre-selection stint.

Speaking to KT Sports over the weekend, Kayiranga said, “We are starting preparations for next month’s regional tournament with a pre-selection process. We monitored and summoned 40 players from the first division women league in the past two weeks.”

“We will hold double training sessions from Monday to Wednesday and this will help us to know the kind of players we can rely on for the regional tournament which will be staged in Rwanda,” added Kayiranga.

Except for Tanzania-based Mukamana Clementine who plies her trade with Kigoma Wfc, the rest of the summoned players will join camp at Hotel Hill Top on Sunday night after their club commitments in the on-going Women football league.

At the 2016 edition in Uganda, She-Amavubi, then under the tutelage of Grace Nyinawumuntu, was eliminated in the group stage after defeats to Tanzania and Ethiopia.

Tanzania won the trophy after defeating Kenya in the final while Ethiopia overcame hosts Uganda to take third place.

The Provisional 40-woman squad for Cecafa Women Challenge Cup

Goalkeepers: Nyirabishisti Judith (AS Kigali Wfc), Uwizeyimana Helene (AS Kigali Wfc), Nyirabatoni Diane (Bugesera Wfc) and Umubyeyi Zakia (Scandinavia Wfc)

 Defenders: Mukamana Clementine (Kigoma WFc, Tanzania), Maniraguha Louise (AS Kigali), Uwamariya Vestine (Inyemera Wfc), Muhawimana Constance  (Inyemera Wfc), Uwizerwa Angelique (AS Kigali Wfc), Uwimbabazi Immacule (Kamonyi Wfc), Mukahirwa Providence (Fatima Musanze academy), Umulisa Edith (Scandinavia Wfc), Uwamahoro Jeanne Claire Mataye (AS Kigali Wfc), Ukwinkunda Jeannette (Scandinavia Wfc),  Nyiransanzebera Miriam (Kamonyi Wfc), Uwanyirigirira Sifa (AS Kigali Wfc), Nyirahabimana Anne Marie (Scandinavia Wfc), Mukantaganira Joselyne (AS Kigali Wfc) and Niyonkuru Goreti (ES Mutunda WFc)

Midfielders: Nibagwire Gloria (Scandinavia Wfc), Karimba Alice (AS Kigali), Mukandayisenga Nadine (Scandinavia Wfc), Yankurije Aline (ES Mutunda Wfc), Nyiramwiza Marta (AS Kigali Wfc), Nyirahashimana Marie Jeanne (Scandinavia Wfc), Uwamahirwa Chadia (AS Kigali Wfc) and Uwihirwe Kevine (Scandinavia Wfc)


Forwards: Ufitinema Clautilde (AS Kigali Wfc) and Niyomugaba Sophie Madudu (AS Kigal: Uwamahoro Marie Claire (AS Kigali Wfc), Mukeshimana Dorothe (AS Kigali), Abimana Djamila Mwiza (Scandinavia Wfc), Kanyenyeri Leony (Inyemera Wfc), Umwaliwase Dudja (AS Kigali Wfc), Uwimpuwe Adelice (ES Mutunda Wfc), Mushimiyimana Marie Claire (Scandinavia Wfc), Umuhoza Yvonne (ES Mutunda Wfc), Ibangarye Anne Marie (Scandinavia Wfc), Nyirandikumana Teddy (Inyemera WFc) and Ntibagwire Lyberata (AS Kigali Wfc).